PDA

View Full Version : Clamshell 366,os 9.2.2




tom vilsack
Oct 5, 2011, 05:32 PM
Picked up this clamshell yesterday-366,192 mem,6 gig hd,wifi (craigs $35) good shape...just needs a new battery

i tryed osx 10.3.9 with camino browser...was just to slow...but with os 9.2.2 and classilla and flash 7 it's ok web machine.

http://forums.macrumors.com/picture.php?albumid=56&pictureid=1087

http://forums.macrumors.com/picture.php?albumid=56&pictureid=1086



adcx64
Oct 5, 2011, 06:32 PM
I have this exact machine. I find it nostalgic and cool to have, but even running 9.2.2 I found it too slow to use..

MAC MAN JW
Oct 25, 2011, 12:06 PM
Picked up this clamshell yesterday-366,192 mem,6 gig hd,wifi (craigs $35) good shape...just needs a new battery

i tryed osx 10.3.9 with camino browser...was just to slow...but with os 9.2.2 and classilla and flash 7 it's ok web machine.

http://forums.macrumors.com/picture.php?albumid=56&pictureid=1087

http://forums.macrumors.com/picture.php?albumid=56&pictureid=1086

if you max the ram out and get a bigger hard drive tiger will run nicely on it. but mac os 9 will be the fastest on any G3 :)

DrakkenWar
Oct 25, 2011, 12:29 PM
While I have never had a clamshell, I did have a iMac366 that I aquired with 192megs of ram. Even under 9.2.2 the experience was horrid! Upgrade your ram to 384 as soon as you can.

If you have problems finding cheap ram, pm or send me a message. I have a box of them from my old G3/G4 days still hanging around that could use new homes!

~Drake

Imixmuan
Oct 26, 2011, 07:05 PM
Some folks really swear by Bon Echo over Camino. Bon Echo is the codename for Firefox 2. If you ever decide to go back to Panther, this dude has a video demonstrating Bon Echo on his ibook on youtube:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xfhmvVaW4f8

He has an SSD drive in his 366 Indigo though, so its not completely comparable to your machine.

You can download Bon Echo here:

http://www.rpm-mozilla.org.uk/

You want the Firefox 2.0.0.20. Would not advise any internet banking on a browser so old.

tom vilsack
Nov 1, 2011, 01:13 AM
If you have problems finding cheap ram, pm or send me a message. I have a box of them from my old G3/G4 days still hanging around that could use new homes!

~Drake

i emailed you and messaged (maybe didnt work?) my clam has 64mb built in and 128mb pc100....if you have a 256 or 512 stick of pc 100...give me a buzz

i live in vanc/delta canada but can pay in us...whatever works for you.....