PDA

View Full Version : Lenovo or MBA

hemorrage
Oct 6, 2011, 08:52 AM
Hi guys im new to this forum but im a huge apple fan; unfortunately i am also a college student and therefore money is a big problem =_=.

I really want to buy an 11" MBA but i dont know if its a big upgrade compared to the cheaper and just as portable lenovo x120e. I know they don't really compare cause apple > lenovo but since the lenovo is more affordable ($~440); is there any place i can buy a cheaper MBA? I don't mind if its the older version (2010) either. Help please!

Rob.G
Oct 6, 2011, 09:01 AM
Craigslist is your friend. Depending on which specific version of the 2010 you want, you can probably find one in the $500-900 range.

Yeah they're more expensive, but so vastly superior to Windows. I'm so done with windows that I'm buying my wife a 13" MBP soon, once I find a deal on a 2011 model on Craigslist. I hate having to support Windows, because it's always having issues.

So while Lenovo the hardware may be very nice, you're still trying to run a POS operating system on it. And Linux still isn't quite ready for primetime (though Ubuntu's getting close).

Rob

preisslers
Oct 6, 2011, 09:04 AM
I just bought a 2010 MBA base model + over $100 in accessories. I paid $550 for the whole lot including a $120 Tom Bihn bag, external CD drive and external SD card reader.

hemorrage
Oct 6, 2011, 09:05 AM
Craigslist is your friend. Depending on which specific version of the 2010 you want, you can probably find one in the $500-900 range.

Yeah they're more expensive, but so vastly superior to Windows. I'm so done with windows that I'm buying my wife a 13" MBP soon, once I find a deal on a 2011 model on Craigslist. I hate having to support Windows, because it's always having issues.

So while Lenovo the hardware may be very nice, you're still trying to run a POS operating system on it. And Linux still isn't quite ready for primetime (though Ubuntu's getting close).

Rob