PDA

View Full Version : Laggy Scrolling?




docgerrard
Oct 7, 2011, 09:20 PM
I just recently started experiencing my MBA lag more... but it is most noticeable when scrolling.

I also get the beach ball more than I did when I first bought it

It isn't that old, I don't think it should be doing slowing down yet.

I use it for work and have many days a week where i have 300mb files or so that i download and delete. That wouldn't affect the SSD making it slower, would it?



TheRealDamager
Oct 7, 2011, 10:12 PM
Not likely.

You aren't using DisplayLink drivers by any chance, are you?

docgerrard
Oct 8, 2011, 09:59 AM
Not likely.

You aren't using DisplayLink drivers by any chance, are you?

I'm using whatever came default with the computer haha

how do i know what to check?

also... wow i am just browsing the internet and i can hear the fan roaring at 4000+ rpm... this is getting ridiculous

antonis
Oct 8, 2011, 10:54 AM
You obviously have something running that takes up much from your cpu. Open Activity Monitor and sort the processes by "% cpu" column with descending order. The process that eats your cpu power should be on top.

docgerrard
Oct 8, 2011, 10:57 AM
You obviously have something running that takes up much from your cpu. Open Activity Monitor and sort the processes by "% cpu" column with descending order. The process that eats your cpu power should be on top.

safari was the highest and i had no videos, flash, nothing running.

DieterRams
Oct 8, 2011, 04:04 PM
How many Safari windows and tabs do you have open? Which MBA do you have, spec wise? I have the newest one, highest config and I've got several Safari windows and tabs, FF windows and tabs, Chrome windows and tabs (I do web work) and it does seem to lag for me too. But I can understand why since I've got so much stuff open. I really hope Apple bumps the MBA up to 8GB RAM in the next release.

docgerrard
Oct 8, 2011, 05:16 PM
How many Safari windows and tabs do you have open? Which MBA do you have, spec wise? I have the newest one, highest config and I've got several Safari windows and tabs, FF windows and tabs, Chrome windows and tabs (I do web work) and it does seem to lag for me too. But I can understand why since I've got so much stuff open. I really hope Apple bumps the MBA up to 8GB RAM in the next release.

only a normal amount of safari tabs

i have the base 2011 13 mba

it doesn't happen all the time, but the times it is noticeable, it is really annoying, bc that shouldn't be happening with this product

DieterRams
Oct 9, 2011, 08:17 PM
only a normal amount of safari tabs

i have the base 2011 13 mba

it doesn't happen all the time, but the times it is noticeable, it is really annoying, bc that shouldn't be happening with this product

What's a normal amount? How many windows and how many tabs each? You're sure about no flash? I think it's listed as "Shockwave Flash" in Activity Monitor (then again, I never installed Flash manually - I'm only running Flash in Chrome, which is sandboxed). Perhaps either there is something that is CPU/memory hungry or the lag you perceive is actually normal and you just don't find it satisfactory. Maybe it's also the screen quality.. but these are just guesses.

mds
Oct 9, 2011, 09:33 PM
I've been having a similar problem with my 2010 11" air. Doesn't seem to matter how many tabs I have open either...hmm...

docgerrard
Oct 10, 2011, 06:50 PM
What's a normal amount? How many windows and how many tabs each? You're sure about no flash? I think it's listed as "Shockwave Flash" in Activity Monitor (then again, I never installed Flash manually - I'm only running Flash in Chrome, which is sandboxed). Perhaps either there is something that is CPU/memory hungry or the lag you perceive is actually normal and you just don't find it satisfactory. Maybe it's also the screen quality.. but these are just guesses.

like 3 or 4 tabs and i use flash block