PDA

View Full Version : Grand Theft Auto Series on the 2011 Macbook Air




CardboardGiant
Oct 9, 2011, 06:05 PM
In case you own a 2011 MBA and were hesitant in buying Grand Theft Auto, I bought all three from the Mac App Store to test it out.

I am using a 2011 Macbook Air 13'' i5.

Grand Theft Auto III
- Playable
- Lags a bit when driving vehicles

Grand Theft Auto: Vice City
- Very playable
- No lag when driving vehicles

Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas
- Barely playable
- very choppy
- freezes for 2 seconds every now and then
*note: There are reports on the MAS via review that the game has problems on MBP and iMac's with better specs than my MBA, so it might be the app's fault.

Temperature, according to iStat Nano 3 menu item, goes up to 80 - 95 degrees in celsius when playing any GTA game on the MBA for about 10 - 20 minutes. I can hear my fans kicking in but it's nothing to worry about.

Computers were made to be used, no harm in testing the limit of your machine.



jamesr19
Oct 9, 2011, 06:24 PM
thanks for this info!

I'm looking at getting san andreas because it is by far the best GTA available. I'm going to wait until they release a bug fix for it or drop the price on promotion (whichever is first). The GTA series is a great thing to hop onto when bored!

CardboardGiant
Oct 9, 2011, 06:32 PM
thanks for this info!

I'm looking at getting san andreas because it is by far the best GTA available. I'm going to wait until they release a bug fix for it or drop the price on promotion (whichever is first). The GTA series is a great thing to hop onto when bored!

No problem. I've been looking around on this forum and google how GTA trilogy ran on MBA; but I found nothing. So I decided to take the plunge myself.

I hope in the next update for each GTA game; Rockstar can enable "play in a window" option.

iNeko
Oct 9, 2011, 06:50 PM
On my 2011 i7 11", GTA III and VC are perfect, but San Andreas "hiccups" every 10 seconds or so. It did the same on my 2010 Air and does it on my 08 MBP, very odd. Annoying, but it doesn't hinder gameplay. :)

bill-p
Oct 9, 2011, 06:51 PM
It's most likely because of the Intel GPU.

2010 MBA 13" here, and there is no slow down whatsoever. The mentioned games run smooth at native resolution.

iNeko
Oct 9, 2011, 06:59 PM
I've had no issues with the intel GPU, it's played every game I've thrown at it except one (Two Worlds II) It even plays Assassin's Creed II better than my 9600gt equipped Pro does :) sure it's not "great" but it'll do!

CardboardGiant
Oct 9, 2011, 07:09 PM
I've had no issues with the intel GPU, it's played every game I've thrown at it except one (Two Worlds II) It even plays Assassin's Creed II better than my 9600gt equipped Pro does :) sure it's not "great" but it'll do!

Just wondering... do you own Bioshock and Borderlands on your MBA too?

iNeko
Oct 9, 2011, 07:13 PM
Borderlands is perfect on here (I can't remember the settings off hand, but it's mostly medium-high, blur off (I can't stand it) at the 1366x768 native res) :) very playable. I don't have Bioshock though!

CardboardGiant
Oct 9, 2011, 07:21 PM
Borderlands is perfect on here (I can't remember the settings off hand, but it's mostly medium-high, blur off (I can't stand it) at the 1366x768 native res) :) very playable. I don't have Bioshock though!

Ah okay.. Thank you!

iNeko
Oct 9, 2011, 07:45 PM
:) No problem, I have a few games on here and they're all playable.

Starcraft 2 I have on medium and it's nice (a solid 30fps+), Civ V is on medium (I've not played much though) and Portal 2, which I believe will run just fine on any machine on high. Let me know if you want any more info, I have other games on hand I can install and test for you!

CardboardGiant
Oct 9, 2011, 08:14 PM
:) No problem, I have a few games on here and they're all playable.

Starcraft 2 I have on medium and it's nice (a solid 30fps+), Civ V is on medium (I've not played much though) and Portal 2, which I believe will run just fine on any machine on high. Let me know if you want any more info, I have other games on hand I can install and test for you!

You are too kind. That would be quite time consuming but thank you for your help!

Shahidkapoor
Oct 9, 2011, 08:44 PM
and what about Grand theft auto IV ? Is it playable?

CardboardGiant
Oct 9, 2011, 08:48 PM
and what about Grand theft auto IV ? Is it playable?

I don't know. It's not on the Mac App Store and I heard it takes away all the charm that GTA: San Andreas had, so I'm not interested in it.

It's on steam i think, and someone uploaded a video of their MBA playing GTA IV

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GesDd7VpHfw

theSeb
Oct 10, 2011, 05:46 AM
I heard it takes away all the charm that GTA: San Andreas had, so I'm not interested in it.



:confused: The difference is night and day and GTA 4 is a much better game, unless you're a 14 year old gangsta-wannabe that dreams of doing drive-bys on a BMX.

JS77
Oct 10, 2011, 05:53 AM
:confused: The difference is night and day and GTA 4 is a much better game, unless you're a 14 year old gangsta-wannabe that dreams of doing drive-bys on a BMX.

Nice generalization there... This comes down to personal taste and opinion. San Andreas is the best GTA of the series in my opinion. I found GTA IV to be a huge disappointment.

maril1111
Oct 10, 2011, 05:59 AM
what settings did you use? Would it be the same for the mbp?

iNeko
Oct 10, 2011, 06:02 AM
:confused: The difference is night and day and GTA 4 is a much better game, unless you're a 14 year old gangsta-wannabe that dreams of doing drive-bys on a BMX.

I dunno, I found San Andreas to be more "fun" overall. Then again, I felt that Saints Row 2 was more the GTA 4 I wanted :)

theSeb
Oct 10, 2011, 06:39 AM
I dunno, I found San Andreas to be more "fun" overall. Then again, I felt that Saints Row 2 was more the GTA 4 I wanted :)

I played SR2 for about 10 minutes. When I stole my first car the first thing I noticed was the physics, or the lack thereof. I wanted to enjoy it, but GTA4 killed it for me.

App Downloader
Oct 10, 2011, 08:39 AM
I have a 13" MacBook Air 2010 Intel Core 2 Duo with 2.13 GHz and 4GB Ram, and I play San Andreas on it quite often. It does lag the first 5 seconds of loading up a game, but then it's all good. :cool:

solo118
Oct 10, 2011, 01:08 PM
Awesome info, thanks! Hopefully SA will work on my 11" i5 w/4gb ram. I wonder if you get a refund if it does not work well?

Hexiii
Oct 10, 2011, 01:52 PM
Is this review with the highest game details or normal quality?

CardboardGiant
Oct 10, 2011, 02:07 PM
Is this review with the highest game details or normal quality?

lowest quality as possible.

You can't change the quality on GTA III, but you can change settings to low on GTA: San Andreas.

Hexiii
Oct 10, 2011, 02:40 PM
lowest quality as possible.

You can't change the quality on GTA III, but you can change settings to low on GTA: San Andreas.

Oh, sorry, I didn't say I meant the SA.

Btw, how is it possible that it runs really smooth with medium graphic settings on less powerful Windows laptop? Is that really that big difference in the game?

CardboardGiant
Oct 10, 2011, 03:19 PM
Oh, sorry, I didn't say I meant the SA.

Btw, how is it possible that it runs really smooth with medium graphic settings on less powerful Windows laptop? Is that really that big difference in the game?

From what i've read, the GTA trilogy on Mac App Store is a cider port.

If you are using a windows laptop, you will download GTA San Andreas from Steam.

Check your windows laptop specifications with the minimum and recommended specifications on steam's GTA: SA page.

Hexiii
Oct 10, 2011, 03:44 PM
From what i've read, the GTA trilogy on Mac App Store is a cider port.

If you are using a windows laptop, you will download GTA San Andreas from Steam.

Check your windows laptop specifications with the minimum and recommended specifications on steam's GTA: SA page.

No, I mean it runs really good on it (I already have it installed), but the laptop has much worse specifications than the MBA 13", which runs it worse according to this thread.

CardboardGiant
Oct 11, 2011, 06:57 PM
I played Grand Theft Auto III, Vice City and San Andreas on my PS2 and the loading/saving times took 2 - 3 minutes.

On my Macbook Air, it takes literally 5 seconds to load, and 5 - 10 seconds to save game.

SO FAST.

mgs4
Oct 16, 2011, 05:27 PM
i was gonna ask does san andreas work ok on the air? I've got the 13inch core i5 model and I'm looking to buy it, and maybe vice city too.

CardboardGiant
Oct 16, 2011, 07:10 PM
i was gonna ask does san andreas work ok on the air? I've got the 13inch core i5 model and I'm looking to buy it, and maybe vice city too.

Vice City runs beautifully on MBA 13-inch i5 2011 (which is what I have).

San Andreas is playable but it freezes up every now and then for 2 - 3 seconds.

solo118
Oct 17, 2011, 08:13 PM
128GB MBA 11" has no problems running San Andreas. I guess its the 4gb of ram:D

3dflyboy1
Oct 18, 2011, 07:27 PM
128GB MBA 11" has no problems running San Andreas. I guess its the 4gb of ram:D

Great!! :D Does it ever lag?

snowwhite007
Nov 23, 2011, 07:00 AM
love vice city on my 13" runs awesome anyway i can make it full screen and has any1 managed to setup ther 360 controllers with similiar button layout?