PDA

View Full Version : iOS 5 GM Battery Life

auero
Oct 10, 2011, 12:04 PM
Before I even start, I am a registered developer and no I didn't register to get iOS 5 early. I'm looking to see if my issue is software or hardware.

For the passed two days I've charge my phone to 100% and unplugged it around 11pm/12am. When I wake up at roughly 8am my phone is completely dead. Nothing running running in the background or any reminders set. Through the day my battery life rapidly drops without using it causing me to at least charge it 2-3 times a day.

My question is has anyone seen this issue? I've been looking around (specifically twitter) and haven't seen a whole lot of complaints on this so I figured I'd give a shot asking here. I'm more concerned that it might be my phone? The battery life was pretty good prior to installing the gm so it doesn't make sense.

saving107
Oct 10, 2011, 12:13 PM
I've had iOS 5 on my iPhone 4 since the GM was released on wednesday and I would actually say that my battery life has improved since iOS 4.3.5

I did a test over the weekend and I managed to get 8 hrs of full usage out of my phone (before it hovered around 6 1/2-7hrs) with almost 36 hours of standby time.

I have 3 location based reminders set
I played multiple games (Words with Friends, World of Goo, Real Racing 2, Osmos etc...)
Streamed audio from rdio (while on wifi)
Made phone calls
Used twitter
iMessage
Took pictures
Wirelessly sent music and photos to my iPhone
and a full iCloud back-up (first time)

auero
Oct 10, 2011, 12:17 PM
I've had iOS 5 on my iPhone 4 since the GM was released on wednesday and I would actually say that my battery life has improved since iOS 4.3.5

I did a test over the weekend and I managed to get 8 hrs of full usage out of my phone (before it hovered around 6 1/2-7hrs) with almost 36 hours of standby time.

I played multiple games
Made phone calls
Used twitter
iMessage
Took pictures