Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

pdpardue

macrumors regular
Original poster
Apr 27, 2005
Sacramento, California
Well hello everyone. Probobaly to most this will be a simple question, but I am new to owning a mac. I have had a PC for years, and use Mac's at school, but never owned one. Bought my iBook used last thursday.
Anyway, the question at hand is this... I have a digital camera, a compact flash card, a card reader, and my new(ish) iBook. I am shooting raw, and everytime I put the card into the reader, iPhoto opens, but because it contains .cr2 (canon raw) iPhoto doesn't know that I have pictures avalible to import.
So what I am resorting to is copying the files manually from the card to a folder I set up in the pictures folder. I am trying to maintain the file structure the camera shoots in. So for example, comming off the card, EOS_DIGITAL/DCIM/144CANON/IMG_4401.cr2 - IMG_4500.cr2 and in the pictures folder, pictures/canon/144/IMG_4401.cr2 - IMG_4500.cr2.
What I am looking for is an action script, freeware, or plugin for iPhoto that will allow me to simply insert the card, have the script/freeware/iPhoto automaticly transfer files (without overrighting what is already there).

Am I asking too much?

By the way, I love my new mac.

eleveneastgate

macrumors 6502
Jan 23, 2005
Maybe try plugging your camara to your iB directly, bypass the reader.

I do that with my Fuji FinePix 3800, and iPhoto recognizes it with no problems...

mkrishnan

Moderator emeritus
Jan 9, 2004
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
What version of iPhoto? RAW support was not in the earlier versions. However, if what eleveneastgate suggested does not work, this is what you should do:

1) Open Image Capture, which is either in your Utilities folder or your Application folder (depending on Tiger/Panther)