PDA

View Full Version : iOS 5 Upgrade OTA - What are your results?




bwphoto
Oct 12, 2011, 11:09 AM
Hi- I'm planning to upgrade my 3GS to iOS5 today but don't want to risk losing any data. From apps to emails to 2 years worth of text messages (keeping for both professional and sentimental reasons), I'll leave it as it is if it means losing all that info.

If/when people start making updates I'd love to hear how it went and if you notice any loss of data, if all your settings needed to be reconfigured, etc...

Thanks!



EmbraceTheOne
Oct 12, 2011, 11:10 AM
You won't lose anything.

Che Castro
Oct 12, 2011, 11:11 AM
I always like to restore as new

S7A2G6
Oct 12, 2011, 11:12 AM
You won't lose anything.

lewys
Oct 12, 2011, 11:12 AM
Hi- I'm planning to upgrade my 3GS to iOS5 today but don't want to risk losing any data. From apps to emails to 2 years worth of text messages (keeping for both professional and sentimental reasons), I'll leave it as it is if it means losing all that info.

If/when people start making updates I'd love to hear how it went and if you notice any loss of data, if all your settings needed to be reconfigured, etc...

Thanks!

Hi, when i updated to IOS 5 GM i kept all of my texts and contacts etc.
If the GM is the same as the final release (which people are saying it will be) then hopefully they should stay too

Codepiink
Oct 12, 2011, 11:13 AM
If you do a simple backup to your computer through iTunes it saves that kind of info. You can always resort back to it even if there is a problem when you upgrade to a new iOS. I've done it many times.

SomeonePlzHelp
Oct 12, 2011, 11:14 AM
Hi- I'm planning to upgrade my 3GS to iOS5 today but don't want to risk losing any data. From apps to emails to 2 years worth of text messages (keeping for both professional and sentimental reasons), I'll leave it as it is if it means losing all that info.

If/when people start making updates I'd love to hear how it went and if you notice any loss of data, if all your settings needed to be reconfigured, etc...

Thanks!

Then just do a manual backup on iTunes real quick. That way it saves all your texts and photos and important/sentimental information.
That's what I always do, since I am the same way with my texts.
Never had a problem updating over the air from iOS 5 beta 3, 4, 5, or 7

EDIT: Although I did have a problem from beta 4 to beta 5 and up where they changed how many texts your phone could hold.
For some time I was unable to receive texts because I had too many and it wouldn't delete the oldest ones in the threads on it's own.
So I had to go in and delete a huge message thread from an ex-gf and then all the texts I was missing came flooding in.
So I don't know if they have fixed that problem yet, but apparently I was the first to run into it on here, since at the time no one knew of that problem existing.

NorfolkMustard
Oct 12, 2011, 11:15 AM
I think this chap is asking for when iOS 5.01 is released OTA.

the iOS5 released today won't be OTA, it puts in place the technology for future updates to be OTA.

jamespa66
Oct 12, 2011, 11:17 AM
Just be sure you backup before you update.

Codepiink
Oct 12, 2011, 11:18 AM
Hi- I'm planning to upgrade my 3GS to iOS5 today but don't want to risk losing any data. From apps to emails to 2 years worth of text messages (keeping for both professional and sentimental reasons), I'll leave it as it is if it means losing all that info.

If/when people start making updates I'd love to hear how it went and if you notice any loss of data, if all your settings needed to be reconfigured, etc...

Thanks!

He's talking about not wanting to lose info today. That's the impression I got from his question.

frunkis54
Oct 12, 2011, 11:22 AM
as long as you have a good backup in itunes after it is done installing just restore latest backup. as far as OTA you won't be able to that till after you have ios5.

bwphoto
Oct 12, 2011, 12:25 PM
Thanks guys. Sounds like I should be safe. And I apologize for the confusion re: OTA updates. I didn't know if they'd let us move to iOS5 OTA or if 5.1 would be. When I wire up for the software update it'll sync all my data first and we'll go from there.

Thanks again.

JamesHP
Oct 12, 2011, 12:31 PM
On the subject of OTA updates, I'm running the GM which is the same build number as the general release. When I go to Settings > General > Software Update, I get hit with 'An error occurred while checking for a software update'. Do people on the general release get that, or is that a GM thing? (Of course, I realise that there won't be an update, I'd just expect it to say something like 'your iPhone is up to date'.

michaelfields
Oct 12, 2011, 12:44 PM
On the subject of OTA updates, I'm running the GM which is the same build number as the general release. When I go to Settings > General > Software Update, I get hit with 'An error occurred while checking for a software update'. Do people on the general release get that, or is that a GM thing? (Of course, I realise that there won't be an update, I'd just expect it to say something like 'your iPhone is up to date'.

Mine says the same thing as well, I'm also on GM. I'm wondering the same thing because if it doesn't do that outside of the GM I don't wanna not be able to update OTA when any updates come out after 5.0

JamesHP
Oct 12, 2011, 06:34 PM
Mine says the same thing as well, I'm also on GM. I'm wondering the same thing because if it doesn't do that outside of the GM I don't wanna not be able to update OTA when any updates come out after 5.0

I restored to the general release version, I now get a 'Your software is up to date' message. So I'd recommend restoring.

shandyman
Oct 12, 2011, 07:07 PM
I restored to the general release version, I now get a 'Your software is up to date' message. So I'd recommend restoring.

i'm still running GM and i now get the "your software is up to date" message.

GM and general release are the exact same version, it's been proven on this forum umpteen times tonight. you're wasting time if you're doing that.

the message on software update was just cos the update server was not active, same as in the early betas before OTA was enabled.

JamesHP
Oct 13, 2011, 02:59 AM
i'm still running GM and i now get the "your software is up to date" message.

GM and general release are the exact same version, it's been proven on this forum umpteen times tonight. you're wasting time if you're doing that.

the message on software update was just cos the update server was not active, same as in the early betas before OTA was enabled.

Strange, because I tried it immediately before restoring and it was still giving me the error. Oh well.