PDA

View Full Version : Macbook air SSD suddenly full ??




kumse
Oct 12, 2011, 05:02 PM
Hey out there

I did just make the 1,2gb lion update today to prepare for iCloud, iOS5 and so on..... But under the update of iOS5 on my iPhone 4, i got an error 3004... now my iPhone is stucked, and i can't install it...
But then i saw that the SSD is totally full... what is going on?? I have like 25gb of music, 5gb pictures, 5gb apps.. I have no idea of what it can be that takes up the space... No movies at all!

What can i do?

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2862390/billeder/ssd.tiff



simsaladimbamba
Oct 12, 2011, 05:04 PM
Take a look at DiskInventory X (http://www.derlien.com/) (will not work in Mac OS X 10.7 Lion), OmniDiskSweeper (http://www.omnigroup.com/products/omnidisksweeper/), JDisk Report (http://www.jgoodies.com/freeware/jdiskreport/) or GrandPerspective (http://grandperspectiv.sourceforge.net/) to see where your HDD space went to.

kumse
Oct 12, 2011, 05:21 PM
Thank you very much, i didn't knew these tools... I will try take an overview... It seems like i have bunches of backup data :/

MacForScience
Oct 12, 2011, 11:51 PM
Thank you very much, i didn't knew these tools... I will try take an overview... It seems like i have bunches of backup data :/

You should disable local time machine backups on computers like the Macbook Air with the limited SSD space.

sudo tmutil disablelocal

The local backups chew up crazy amounts of space and are poorly implemented. Just my two cents.

Cheers

devinh
Oct 13, 2011, 06:17 AM
You should disable local time machine backups on computers like the Macbook Air with the limited SSD space.

sudo tmutil disablelocal

The local backups chew up crazy amounts of space and are poorly implemented. Just my two cents.

Cheers

MacForScience, I, too have an issue with taken up space on my 13" MBA. I do use Time Machine but seem to have a boatload of "Backups" taking up space. Is this what you mean about "local backups"? I just bought the 11" MBA 128GB SSD and to set up from Time Machine, currently I won't be able to since I'm using 160GB of space. Does that make sense?

Thanks, Devin

BadaBing!!
Oct 13, 2011, 07:09 AM
You should disable local time machine backups on computers like the Macbook Air with the limited SSD space.

sudo tmutil disablelocal

The local backups chew up crazy amounts of space and are poorly implemented. Just my two cents.

Cheers

Should that be disabled even if I already have an external HD (that I plug once every few days) on which TimeMachine backups are enabled ?

johnhurley
Oct 13, 2011, 09:14 AM
Should that be disabled even if I already have an external HD (that I plug once every few days) on which TimeMachine backups are enabled ?

Well that "kind of" depends.

I use multiple different hard drives for time machine backups of my air. I regularly rotate the drives and ( somewhat regularly ) re-initialize the partitions the backups are taken on to force time machine to start over.

When I do take a backup I select the disk for the backup, take the backup, and then turn time machine "off". If you proceed like that then no need to disable the local backups ( because already turned off ).

In general if you really are getting the backups every few days time machine is "supposed to" clean up and get rid of the local backups when it gets a good external backup. The problem is though in the "supposed to" is often reported to not really happen consistently.

BadaBing!!
Oct 13, 2011, 09:38 AM
Well that "kind of" depends.

I use multiple different hard drives for time machine backups of my air. I regularly rotate the drives and ( somewhat regularly ) re-initialize the partitions the backups are taken on to force time machine to start over.

When I do take a backup I select the disk for the backup, take the backup, and then turn time machine "off". If you proceed like that then no need to disable the local backups ( because already turned off ).

In general if you really are getting the backups every few days time machine is "supposed to" clean up and get rid of the local backups when it gets a good external backup. The problem is though in the "supposed to" is often reported to not really happen consistently.

I see. Thanks for the info.