PDA

View Full Version : Can't sign up for an Apple ID.




Kristenn
Oct 12, 2011, 06:49 PM
Okay, so I spend two and a half hours downloading the OS X update, another 10/15 minutes installing it, only to have System Preference open displaying iCloud. Sounds good so far, right?

Well, just wait. I click "Create an Apple ID..." and a little comes down saying it's loading, then another menu comes down saying

Account Limit Reached.

This device is no longer eligible for creating a free iCloud account.


What now?



iLog.Genius
Oct 12, 2011, 06:51 PM
Same problem and can't find any information as to what's wrong or how to fix it.

Kristenn
Oct 12, 2011, 06:53 PM
It's very annoying. iCloud is free, anyway. I never used Beta and it isn't like I stole OS X (not sure how that's possible anyway). I want my own Apple ID for email, syncing and all that, I don't want to use the one I bought Lion with.

Seriously, the service might be awesome but, this isn't the best way to let the cat out of the bag. I'm not having problems USING the service, sure, but, it's worse! I can't even sign up for the service!

jackito
Oct 13, 2011, 04:51 AM
Same problem here and I can't find any information neither on what's wrong or how to fix it.

Still waiting for Apple news...

Very frustrating...

jackito
Oct 13, 2011, 07:21 AM
You guys, take a look at this thread posted in Apple Forums...

https://discussions.apple.com/message/16335887#16335887

iLog.Genius
Oct 13, 2011, 08:19 AM
That thread is no use. It's just speculation and nothing is fact. I've tried using a Windows computer and it's the same thing so it can't be a serial number problem.

jackito
Oct 13, 2011, 12:06 PM
It's not speculation iLog.Genius, I've gone to the technical service and now that I have my serial where it must be... I've been able to create my iCloud account without any problem.

So... for me, problem solved. If the same happens to you... go to the technical service in order to put the serial where it must be and you'll be done.

Good luck!

Kristenn
Oct 13, 2011, 04:28 PM
I appreciate the information but now I'm even more pissed off. Why didn't they etch a new serial number into the Logic Board so I wouldn't have this problem AFTER getting it replaced? If I call Apple and tell them, will they charge me for a mistake that shouldn't have been made on their end in the first place?

It seems stupid that all the people with logic board replacements who's serial numbers don't show up in the system profiler are logged out of making an iCloud account.

Sure, I could get on the other computer in the house and make one there but, it runs Windows XP which isn't supported by the iCloud control panel. Seems kind of stupid, too. iTunes has support for it, and it's probably at least HALF of Apple's iPhone/iPod/iPad user base. So no, I can't use a different computer to make an iCloud account. I went to the support site, put in the serial number on my MBP box and apparently I'm left with purchasing some one time use Apple Care thing.

Fact is, I shouldn't have to pay anything because Apple didn't put a serial number on my logic board. The only thing I'm left with now is calling Apple but, will I be charged? I shouldn't, but, will I?

iLog.Genius
Oct 13, 2011, 04:44 PM
It's not speculation iLog.Genius, I've gone to the technical service and now that I have my serial where it must be... I've been able to create my iCloud account without any problem.

So... for me, problem solved. If the same happens to you... go to the technical service in order to put the serial where it must be and you'll be done.

Good luck!

Thanks. BTW did you have your logic board replaced? The reason I asked is because I didn't, it was a RAM upgrade that basically removed the serial number. And from reading other threads, it seems like you can't re-write the serial again if it isn't blank?

iSuPeRFrEaKy
Oct 13, 2011, 05:35 PM
I cant sign into icloud either.

Account Limit Reached

This device is no longer eligible for creating an Apple ID..

I checked my system serial and its got

Serial Number System Serial#

I havent had my board replaced and my serial was there before this lion 10.7.2.
After the update this happened:mad:

Kristenn
Oct 14, 2011, 02:47 AM
So can anyone answer any of these questions? Especially if I have to PAY apple for them to help me with their goof?

Man, I bet the Windows users are REALLY enjoying Skydrive right now.

Geez, since when does my OS have to be able to read the freaking serial number JUST to sign up for an Apple ID and have it work with iCloud?

Kristenn
Oct 14, 2011, 05:10 PM
I'm bumping this. I was really looking forward to using this service and basically planned a lot of my work on it, assuming I could at least sign in. It's pretty important and it's pissing me off that there isn't an easy way around it. Surely Apple is aware of this issue?

pewra
Oct 15, 2011, 01:40 AM
Yeah, it's because of the unset serial number. The serial is sent as 'fffffff', which of course has registered a heap of iCloud accounts, and has been blocked by Apples systems.

Issue is, if they allow the blank serial to register accounts, it's just inviting bots to make fake accounts.

ED2: Getting close, but no banana https://setup.icloud.com/setup/create_account_ui


ED3: For those comfortable with a debugging proxy, it's a simple manor of changing this value in the response of "https://setup.icloud.com/setup/create_account_ui" on line 41. There are no further server-side checks in place once the initial page has been executed.

http://cl.ly/2P1e131A2O083h0e0D00/Screen_Shot_2011-10-15_at_6.12.17_PM.png


Unfortunately, the only way to do this is with Charles Proxy and a fake CA certificate. I don't believe there is a comfortable way that I can package this up for other users. If there's a demand for this, I can create some quick instructions for doing this on your own copy.

http://cl.ly/1j0F133q1k2U10060L2U/icloud-burns.jpg

applephysci
Oct 15, 2011, 10:34 PM
ED3: For those comfortable with a debugging proxy, it's a simple manor of changing this value in the response of "https://setup.icloud.com/setup/create_account_ui" on line 41. There are no further server-side checks in place once the initial page has been executed.

Unfortunately, the only way to do this is with Charles Proxy and a fake CA certificate. I don't believe there is a comfortable way that I can package this up for other users. If there's a demand for this, I can create some quick instructions for doing this on your own copy.


This is great. It would be awesome if you can help share us some instructions . Thanks.