Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.
Status
Not open for further replies.

devilot

Moderator emeritus
Original poster
May 1, 2005
Awhile back, I approached my parents with a plea for an Apple desktop (I saved up and bought a 12" PB g4 last summer; have since fallen in love with macs). I gave them a rough estimate of the price range and surprisingly, they ok'ed my request.

Was waiting and obsessively reading forums for the new iMacs... went to my father asking to take up his previous offer, but now he claims that the computer I want is "just an overpriced entertainment machine." I'm looking at the 20" iMac rev. B, 1 g sdram because I'm thinking about using photoshop more (currently taking a class on PScs). Maybe I could go for less memory?

I'm a student and even w/ the discount, he's not really budging.
Any suggestions as to how I can persuade him?! :confused:

FoxyKaye

macrumors 68000
Don't know if this helps, but you could make the point that if you wanted an "overpriced entertainment machine" that in fact an iMac is actually not the machine of choice: there are far more games available on the Windows platform, which also ususally gets first run games as well (Mac folks have to wait for them to get ported), and in fact the most overpriced entertainment machines of them all are the PS2/PSP/PS3, X-Box, GameCube varieties.

Good luck with your dad - I'm saving up for one of the new iMacs right now (unless I win the lottery, in which case it's 2.7GHz G5 DP all-the-way).

sammyman

macrumors 6502a
Mar 21, 2005