Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Apr 11, 2004
NYC
Hi All,
I will be going on vacation soon and I dont feel like taking a CD case with me so I made CD images of my favorite games, but when I try to play it says the CD is needed, is there any non ilegal way around this, also Im a noob at OSX so maybe Im doing something wrong, any tips?
Thanks
Patmian212

Rocksaurus

macrumors 6502a
Sep 14, 2003
California
The games these days look for the CD in the physical sense, in your drive, instead of just taking the computer's word for it with the mounted .dmg's. Outside of kracks, you're out of luck, unless someone out there has figured out a way to NOT edit the game's code to look for the physical CD and somehow fake a physical CD...

JzzTrump22

macrumors 65816
Apr 13, 2004
New York
You make a disk image of the game using disk utility in the utilities folder and then you mount the dmg file using toast. Sometimes you can get away with just double clicking the dmg, but most of the time you need to mount it with toast. Do a search of the forums about making an image file of warcraft 3, it's been discussed many times, even if it's not the game your using, theres a very complete walkthrough on how to make a working dmg file.

Rocksaurus

macrumors 6502a
Sep 14, 2003
California
JzzTrump22 said:
You make a disk image of the game using disk utility in the utilities folder and then you mount the dmg file using toast. Sometimes you can get away with just double clicking the dmg, but most of the time you need to mount it with toast. Do a search of the forums about making an image file of warcraft 3, it's been discussed many times, even if it's not the game your using, theres a very complete walkthrough on how to make a working dmg file.

Mounting it with toast will do the trick?? I wonder why?

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Apr 11, 2004
NYC