PDA

View Full Version : MBA, backups and SSD space

devinh
Oct 13, 2011, 02:29 PM
I am a bit of a novice when it comes to the Mac so I apologize upfront. I am trying to clean up a bit of space on a 13" MBA 256GB SSD (which will eventually be reset to default since my wife will take that one) as I have bought an 11" MBA 128GB SSD. I do use Time Machine for backups. I have about 95GB of available space on the 13" MBA so replicating it on the new 11" MBA won't work due to space.

My question is when I delete files and/or photos, the space available does not increase. Example: I will drag 100 photos from iPhoto to the trash, empty the iPhoto trash and the Mac trash. Am I missing something here? Does this have anything to do with "local backups"?

Any assistance would be appreciated.

Thanks, Devin

johnhurley
Oct 13, 2011, 03:14 PM
I am a bit of a novice when it comes to the Mac so I apologize upfront. I am trying to clean up a bit of space on a 13" MBA 256GB SSD (which will eventually be reset to default since my wife will take that one) as I have bought an 11" MBA 128GB SSD. I do use Time Machine for backups. I have about 95GB of available space on the 13" MBA so replicating it on the new 11" MBA won't work due to space.

My question is when I delete files and/or photos, the space available does not increase. Example: I will drag 100 photos from iPhoto to the trash, empty the iPhoto trash and the Mac trash. Am I missing something here? Does this have anything to do with "local backups"?

Any assistance would be appreciated.

Thanks, Devin

This looks like it may help ... you can click on About this mac then change to the Storage tab ... here is more details and the fix.

local backup devours space
(http://www.macpoint.be/lions-local-backup-devours-disk-space/)

devinh
Oct 13, 2011, 04:04 PM