PDA

View Full Version : How does MBA get it's location for 'Find my Macbook'




Syntec4
Oct 16, 2011, 12:13 PM
I presume there is no GPS chip and it's just via the IP address when connected to the net. But I am very surprised just how accurate the location is, within a few yards on the map. Anyone know how it works?



MultiFinder17
Oct 16, 2011, 12:15 PM
The same way an iPod touch or an wifi iPad gets its location - there's a database of wireless access points associated with their geographical locations, and it simply compares the two.

NutsNGum
Oct 16, 2011, 12:20 PM
The same way an iPod touch or an wifi iPad gets its location - there's a database of wireless access points associated with their geographical locations, and it simply compares the two.

Is the Dennis Miller way of saying:

"by IP address"

jsolares
Oct 16, 2011, 12:52 PM
Is the Dennis Miller way of saying:

"by IP address"

Nope, the Wireless AP database is by their MAC Address, it might use both tho.

NutsNGum
Oct 16, 2011, 01:23 PM
Nope, the Wireless AP database is by their MAC Address, it might use both tho.

Interesting. I shall make some alphabet potato shapes in order that I may eat my own words.