PDA

View Full Version : Switch from Pro to Air

dissdnt
Oct 18, 2011, 01:06 PM
I've been toiling for weeks now on what way to go. I have a 2 year old macbook pro 15 inch that i'm selling soon to get either a new pro (when the refresh comes) or a top of the line air.

My question is there anyone that switched from a pro to an air and what are your impressions. I mostly use it for photoshop if that helps.

JHUFrank
Oct 18, 2011, 01:17 PM
This is probably the only time you would see me arguing against the Air. I absolutely love my Air, and I'm an IT professional.
However, if I was going to do a lot of Photoshop/Image work, I would be all over the 15" Pro with the high resolution screen, and replace the DVD with an extra drive for all of my RAW files.

Benguitar
Oct 18, 2011, 02:55 PM
This is probably the only time you would see me arguing against the Air. I absolutely love my Air, and I'm an IT professional.
However, if I was going to do a lot of Photoshop/Image work, I would be all over the 15" Pro with the high resolution screen, and replace the DVD with an extra drive for all of my RAW files.

I'm with you on the more hard drive space, But, Just out of curiosity wouldn't it make more sense when working with graphics to use an external monitor with a laptop anyway?

I myself am considering making the switch from my 2008 15 inch MBP to an 11 inch MBA. I don't use any graphic intensive applications, and I don't have that much media that needs to be native on my device. (i.e. I'll just carry 2 external drives, One will have media one will be a system backup)

If I might add a question or two to the thread, How hot does the MBA get under heavy use and how does the battery compare when you watch movies, (compared to iPad 2, iPod Touch, etc)

I'm not really worried about battery life when it comes to my job because I will always have something to plug into, But more along the lines of watching videos off of a flash-drive on the airplane.

NutsNGum
Oct 18, 2011, 03:55 PM