PDA

View Full Version : Why does my Blu-Ray player have a USB port?


mrsir2009
Oct 18, 2011, 10:44 PM
The old $90 DVD player broke, so my dad went out and got a blu-ray player. We still have a CRT TV, so we can't benifit from it, but its one less thing to buy when the CRT dies :D Anyway, there's a single USB port on the front of the Blu-Ray player, and I'm just wondering what its for?

BTW its quite a high end player, it has media centre features built in and special internet services etc... If that helps:o

SactoGuy18
Oct 18, 2011, 10:53 PM
Unless the Blu-ray player has built-in 802.11g/n Wi-Fi support including antenna, that USB port is where you plug in the Wi-Fi adapter. In fact, that's where I plug in the 802.11n Wi-Fi adapter for my Sony BDP-S370 player so I could get firmware updates and access streaming video services like Netflix and Amazon's streaming video service.

mrsir2009
Oct 18, 2011, 10:59 PM
What, so you plug a Wifi adaptor into the USB port on the front to get internet services?

Thanks

RawBert
Oct 19, 2011, 12:10 AM
My Blu Ray player has one USB port on the front and one on the back. I use the front one to plug in a flash drive and play mpg and jpg files.

Sankersizzle
Oct 19, 2011, 12:13 AM
Why didn't you just get a PS3? Then you could have FOUR USB ports!!

But seriously, why'd you buy a stand alone player instead of a PS3?

wywern209
Oct 19, 2011, 12:15 AM
Why didn't you just get a PS3? Then you could have FOUR USB ports!!

But seriously, why'd you buy a stand alone player instead of a PS3?

for true 1080p 3d capability thru hdmi 1.4? no ps3 so far has 1.4 for the support of 1080p hd. and the usb port on your bluray player is for listening music , watching vids thru the player by storing the vids and music on the usb drive.

Peace
Oct 19, 2011, 12:16 AM
Every electronic device must have some kind of access port according to FCC regulations.

It's a law. That's probably why your Blu-Ray player has a USB port.

mrsir2009
Oct 19, 2011, 12:20 AM
Why didn't you just get a PS3? Then you could have FOUR USB ports!!

But seriously, why'd you buy a stand alone player instead of a PS3?

1. I didn't buy it.

2. It costed $160 instead of $500...

Sankersizzle
Oct 19, 2011, 12:20 AM
for true 1080p 3d capability thru hdmi 1.4? no ps3 so far has 1.4 for the support of 1080p hd. and the usb port on your bluray player is for listening music , watching vids thru the player by storing the vids and music on the usb drive.

GOD DAMMIT I just bought another PS3 to play blu rays at home, and was hoping you'd be all like "Yo, listen to Sankersizzle that guy is rad" rather than telling me why the blu ray player was better...

mrsir2009
Oct 19, 2011, 12:21 AM
for true 1080p 3d capability thru hdmi 1.4? no ps3 so far has 1.4 for the support of 1080p hd. and the usb port on your bluray player is for listening music , watching vids thru the player by storing the vids and music on the usb drive.

Cool... So instead of putting in a disk to watch a movie I can plug in a flash drive with the movie on it? :)

iParis
Oct 19, 2011, 12:22 AM
Not sure about yours', but when I plug a USB storage device into my bluray player I can play almost any type of video and music file. This is the reason I sold my 1st gen Apple TV.

mrsir2009
Oct 19, 2011, 12:23 AM
Every electronic device must have some kind of access port according to FCC regulations.

It's a law. That's probably why your Blu-Ray player has a USB port.

Seriously, its the law? Why?


...Or are you being sarcastic? :rolleyes:

iParis
Oct 19, 2011, 12:24 AM
Cool... So instead of putting in a disk to watch a movie I can plug in a flash drive with the movie on it? :)

Yep. Or even an external hard drive, which is what I do. And I'm not positive you can do it, I guess it depends on the bluray player you have.

Chundles
Oct 19, 2011, 12:26 AM
I plug my external HDD into my Blu-Ray player - makes it into a media centre.

Peace
Oct 19, 2011, 12:28 AM
Seriously, its the law? Why?


...Or are you being sarcastic? :rolleyes:

Not at all. Read the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.

mrsir2009
Oct 19, 2011, 12:32 AM
Well, my BluRay player has a media centre button on the main menu... But when I click on it it says "Sorry, you aren't connected to the internet". But if I plugged my external hard disk in, which contains movies and TV shows, I could click on the media centre button and I'd be able to browse the drive and watch stuff off it, correct?

Sorry, I'm new to this stuff... Been using cassete tapes for most of my life :o

----------

Not at all. Read the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.

But, wait.... My old DVD player didn't have a USB port? :o

Peace
Oct 19, 2011, 12:34 AM
Well, my BluRay player has a media centre button on the main menu... But when I click on it it says "Sorry, you aren't connected to the internet". But if I plugged my external hard disk in, which contains movies and TV shows, I could click on the media centre button and I'd be able to browse the drive and watch stuff off it, correct?

Sorry, I'm new to this stuff... Been using cassete tapes for most of my life :o

----------



But, wait.... My old DVD player didn't have a USB port? :o

If it was made after 1996 it has some kind of external access to it.Doesn't have to be a USB port.

Don't get me wrong. I'm not saying that's the only reason it has a port.
All I'm saying is the DMCA required some kind of external access.

mrsir2009
Oct 19, 2011, 12:40 AM
If it was made after 1996 it has some kind of external access to it.Doesn't have to be a USB port.

Don't get me wrong. I'm not saying that's the only reason it has a port.
All I'm saying is the DMCA required some kind of external access.

Why is it required to have external access?

Peace
Oct 19, 2011, 12:44 AM
Why is it required to have external access?

http://thomas.loc.gov/cgi-bin/query/C?c105:./temp/~c105BOrKcA


It's in there somewhere. I'm not gonna go reading the whole thing so believe me or not.

I don't care really.

Sankersizzle
Oct 19, 2011, 02:18 AM
1. I didn't buy it.

2. It costed $160 instead of $500...

Oh, yikes. Down here you can get a PS3 from the store for $220 :s.

fat jez
Oct 19, 2011, 02:54 AM
I dunno about anybody else, but on my player, if I want to access any of the Bluray 2.0 features, e.g. websites, I need to plug in a USB key for storage, as the player does not have any long term storage of its own.

mrsir2009
Oct 19, 2011, 03:01 AM
Oh, yikes. Down here you can get a PS3 from the store for $220 :s.

Thats New Zealand for ya -_-

Dagless
Oct 19, 2011, 06:47 AM
for true 1080p 3d capability thru hdmi 1.4? no ps3 so far has 1.4 for the support of 1080p hd. and the usb port on your bluray player is for listening music , watching vids thru the player by storing the vids and music on the usb drive.

PS3's can play 1080 3D Bluray over 1.3. There was a system update last year that enabled it.
I can't find any source clarifying if its progressive or interlaced, though.

yg17
Oct 19, 2011, 07:08 AM
Did you try reading the manual? :rolleyes:

Some players use it for storage for BD-Live content. Others use it for WiFi, others use it to play media files, and some might not use it at all. The manual should clear that up.

SactoGuy18
Oct 19, 2011, 07:31 AM
Some players use it for storage for BD-Live content. Others use it for WiFi, others use it to play media files, and some might not use it at all. The manual should clear that up.

Actually, players that meet the BD-Live spec MUST have 1 GB of on-player storage--you can't "fudge" it by storing the BD-Live data on an external flash drive connected via the USB port.

yg17
Oct 19, 2011, 11:10 AM
Actually, players that meet the BD-Live spec MUST have 1 GB of on-player storage--you can't "fudge" it by storing the BD-Live data on an external flash drive connected via the USB port.

My Sony player requires me to have a flash drive plugged in for BD Live. It's a couple years old, maybe this something new?

Darth.Titan
Oct 19, 2011, 11:29 AM
And the moral of the thread, OP, is to read the manual. If you don't have it, the manufacturer of your player probably provides it online at their website. Look under "Support" or "Downloads".

No one here can say with any certainty what the USB port is for, or how you can make use of it. Especially since you never told us the exact brand, model, etc. RTFM.

fat jez
Oct 19, 2011, 11:31 AM
My Sony player requires me to have a flash drive plugged in for BD Live. It's a couple years old, maybe this something new?

My Samsung is the same. It did not support BD 2.0 when I bought it, it came later as a software update and needs the USB drive for the BD-Live storage.

mrsir2009
Oct 19, 2011, 02:33 PM
It appears to be for playing media, but you can't just play any video files on it... I tried a .mp4 and it said 'wrong format'. So I guess I need to chuck a DVD/BluRay image onto the flash drive, so I can play the videos off that disk...