Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

bignelly

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 12, 2005
I'm in the UK, recently graduated, not a registered student any more, but could use the educational discount on my first ever iMac!

Anyone know whether Apple will actually ask for proof that I'm a student, or can I just insert the name of a university to get through to the Education Store?

Thanks for help

mkrishnan

Moderator emeritus
Jan 9, 2004
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
bignelly said:
I'm in the UK, recently graduated, not a registered student any more, but could use the educational discount on my first ever iMac!

Anyone know whether Apple will actually ask for proof that I'm a student, or can I just insert the name of a university to get through to the Education Store?

Thanks for help

AFAIK, they do random audits, so the answer is "maybe." I think they might have a policy for recent grads though? Not sure about that. Depends on what recent means.... Did you graduate in the last couple of months, or did you graduate last year?

lazyboy922

macrumors 6502
Dec 9, 2003
Las Vegas, NV
I wouldn't expect many welcoming responses. Most people on this board don't like to cheat apple.

If you are no longer a student, then no, you shouldn't be able to use your student discount. Whether or not they check? I am not sure, but I think majority will say it's a 50-50 chance. Sometimes they do, sometimes they don't.

I am in a similar situation, and just graduated myself. I would LOVE to use my id for the discount, but don't really want to take that chance.

Maybe some others will offer some better responses, I am just going by what I have seen in the past. do a search, I am sure you will find some other answers.

Don

goodwill

macrumors 6502
Jan 8, 2004
Dallas