PDA

View Full Version : Add a second display to your Mac mini


MacBytes
May 13, 2005, 12:30 PM
http://www.macbytes.com/images/bytessig.gif (http://www.macbytes.com)

Category: News and Press Releases
Link: Add a second display to your Mac mini (http://www.macbytes.com/link.php?sid=20050513133054)

Posted on MacBytes.com (http://www.macbytes.com)
Approved by Mudbug

pontecorvo
May 13, 2005, 12:52 PM
This is HUGE! Lack of dual monitors was all that was keeping me from getting a mini.

shamino
May 13, 2005, 01:05 PM
I wonder how well it will perform.

You obviously can't transfer hi-res video over USB. Even USB 2.0 wouldn't have enough bandwidth. Which means they must have a fairly powerful video card in the device - allowing the OS to upload bitmaps and drawing commands, which the converter can then render and display.

I remember a similar device being sold years ago (with a SCSI interface) in order to bring color video to a Mac Plus. I like the idea of this piece of history repeating itself.

redeye be
May 13, 2005, 01:05 PM
very nice, but wouldn't this put a huge burdon on the cpu?

dornoforpyros
May 13, 2005, 01:51 PM
hmm interesting to say the least.

SiliconAddict
May 13, 2005, 01:59 PM
This is HUGE! Lack of dual monitors was all that was keeping me from getting a mini.

Dude be careful. USB 2 bandwidth sucks. Heck even FireWire 800 I'd be nervous about. There is a reason why video cards are directly connected to a systems FSB.

Keynoteuser
May 13, 2005, 03:23 PM
I'm wondering if you could use this with Keynote. Put the control screen on the USB2 screen, and put the slides on the 32meg video card. No need for super performance on the control screen. I e-mailed them for a test unit, hopefully they'll let me review it and test it out with Keynote to see how it performs.

CanadaRAM
May 13, 2005, 03:28 PM
We are a Tritton distributor for Canada -- so I'll be able to test it on my Mini as soon as it comes out.

The bandwidth required is all about the number of pixels times the colour depth. USB2 is quite happy with 800 x 600 (0.5 MP) or 1024 x 768 (0.8 MP)resolutions at full colour. You wouldn't expect it to go to 1600 x 1200 resolution (almost 2 MP).

Thanks
Trevor
CanadaRAM.com

GeeYouEye
May 13, 2005, 03:51 PM
An external video card. Not a bad idea. They probably should have used FireWire though if they wanted anything actually like AGP (1x) performance though. On the other hand, with Q2DE (once Apple actually enables it :rolleyes: ) that should be a moot point for the most part. You won't be able to play UT2k4, but it should be quite serviceable for everyday use.