Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

murph1134

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 29, 2011
Sorry if this has been asked before, I searched to no avail...

For those of you that use external HD's to store your movies as a server for your Apple TV - do you notice any lag in playback? I assume that the way it works is the Apple TV accesses your computer, which then has to access your external HD via USB and to me that seems like it may cause laggy playback.

But I imagine people do this a lot - anyone had issues with it?

I'm new to the Apple TV world and converting all my DVD's to Apple TV. Figuring I'm gonna need more space at some point...

Nov 28, 2010
located
The initial lag might be due to the HDD spinning up, but wireless LAN (802.11n) and USB 2.0 offer more than enough bandwidth to stream SD and HD movies, as HD movies seldom go over 1.5MB/s, SD movies are even smaller. USB 2.0 offers 36MB/s in peaks, 802.11n wireless LAN offers up to 15/20 MB/s.

Sparky9292

macrumors 6502a
Aug 1, 2004
Drobo

Sorry if this has been asked before, I searched to no avail...

For those of you that use external HD's to store your movies as a server for your Apple TV - do you notice any lag in playback? I assume that the way it works is the Apple TV accesses your computer, which then has to access your external HD via USB and to me that seems like it may cause laggy playback.

But I imagine people do this a lot - anyone had issues with it?

I'm new to the Apple TV world and converting all my DVD's to Apple TV. Figuring I'm gonna need more space at some point...

I have one of these attached to my wimpy 2006 mac mini. Works great!

drobo-2.jpg

Omne666

macrumors 6502a
Sep 16, 2010
Melbourne, Australia