Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mrjosh

macrumors regular
Original poster
Mar 5, 2009
I'm trying to streamline online sharing of photos. So far, my options seem to be:
1) Facebook, Flickr - don't want to use this
2) Picassa - works ok, but a little bit of a pain
3) Adobe solutions - have no experience with
4) Via my domain using something like Gallery (btw, I use dreamhost).

Here's my situation, I would like to be able to create online albums - some will be open to public, some I would like to password protect. This is not for commercial purposes (I do not need to accept payment).

I am trying to find the easiest way to upload finished photos, organize ad protect my work.

If hosting on my own domain is the best option (I would have total control), any ideas on what platform to use? I am not a programmer and would like to focus on ease of use so my wife can also upload/share.

If I posted in the wrong section, please let me know, and thanks in advance for your help!

Consultant

macrumors G5
Jun 27, 2007
How many people will be accessing? Dozens, hundreds, thousands, etc.

For small number a CMS such as wordpress on your own site will work fine.

Designer Dale

macrumors 68040
Mar 25, 2009
Folding space
Flickr seems to be the most popular on this forum. Smugmug is well spoken of and several users are happy with 500px. Go through the current Photo of the Day thread and find someone with a link to a 500px gallery. It looks like a Facebook for photographers.

Dale

Oberhammer

macrumors regular
Aug 16, 2010
I'm trying to streamline online sharing of photos. So far, my options seem to be:
1) Facebook, Flickr - don't want to use this
2) Picassa - works ok, but a little bit of a pain
3) Adobe solutions - have no experience with
4) Via my domain using something like Gallery (btw, I use dreamhost).