Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

porozit46

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 4, 2011
Dear friends, I need your help. I'm new to macs but I'm happy that my experience with macs starts from iMac G3! First off all sorry for my bad English - I'm from Ukraine, so please excuse me =)
I have the following problem: when I start my iMac G3 it does not load. It makes a sound like "tada..." (chime) and then display becomes grey (it is started but no text is showing). If I press and hold the button on the side with a pen (i do not know how this button is called) I receive the following screen:

eec68d7468c3e708e85ea919b1535fcd.jpg

Can please someone experienced person advise me what to do?

P.S. I have the CD inserted to the drive and I can not eject it. If I type "eject cd" in this menu it is thinking for a long time and does not do anything. My mac freezes. But if I type "eject abcd" for example it say that this is unknown command.

Thank you very much for your help!!

WGoins88

macrumors regular
Feb 8, 2011
Well, I see the date is listed as 1904, meaning that the PRAM battery is most likely dead, which can cause odd problems. I would tell you to "Zap" the PRAM, but it won't help if the battery is dead or even missing.

The one button on the side is a reset button, and the other is a programmer's button, which will take you into Open Firmware, which is the screen you took a picture of.

Anyways,

Type "mac-boot" in (minus the quotation marks) and press return. If it goes to a folder flashing the Mac OS smiley face and a question mark, there is no OS (Operating System) on it, and one needs to be installed. If it boots into the OS, then I strongly recommend replacing the PRAM battery.

porozit46

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 4, 2011
Thank you for your advise, when I'm at home I will try it.