PDA

View Full Version : Sleeping with a PM G5?

ZLurker
May 17, 2005, 01:23 PM
I got a iBook 1Ghz G4, and i like it, ALOT!
Its so damn quiet, i almost can't hear if its on or not.
Now I refuse to use any other computer in an office or a other room unless its dead quiet. I turn the computer off. Otherwise i can't think. Did I mention that im a researcher? In scientific computing.

I was soo looking forward to buy a new mid range PM in september, but now im horrified about the noiselevel. I plan to keep the uptime to 24/7 so i can access files and run programs remotely. Now, my home workspace is in the same room as my girlfriend, and its not comfy to have a noisy fan in there if she are working.

You PM G5 users out there... anyone who use it in a dead quiet room?
Whats your experience?

Offcourse the loadlevel matters but if you just surf och check email, access the hard drive?

/ZLurker

MacNut
May 17, 2005, 01:34 PM
Oh I thought you were actually sleeping with your G5. :p

Etrain
May 17, 2005, 01:34 PM
I thought so too...or maybe something more haha! :o

MacNut
May 17, 2005, 01:37 PM
If you have it sleeping it should be fairly quite. Unless its running all night long then you will hear something.
You will never get it super quite, just think of it as white noise.

FireArse
May 17, 2005, 01:57 PM
Hey,

i have a Rev. B 2GHz PowerMac - and leave it encoding H.264 files overnight. CPU usage is quite high, but the CPU fans never get loud - I have no problems with leaving my Mac running while i sleep 2m from it.

FireArse

ZLurker
May 17, 2005, 01:59 PM
Oh I thought you were actually sleeping with your G5. :p
:p
Thats right!:D

Well, i guess i can wake it remotly if its sleeping?

ZLurker
May 17, 2005, 02:02 PM
Hey,

i have a Rev. B 2GHz PowerMac - and leave it encoding H.264 files overnight. CPU usage is quite high, but the CPU fans never get loud - I have no problems with leaving my Mac running while i sleep 2m from it.

FireArse