PDA

View Full Version : Master and Slave


sammyman
May 19, 2005, 01:43 AM
I have a 12" powerbook combo, and wondered what the hard drive is set to and what the combo drive is set to? Are they the same as the 12" superdrive models?

blodwyn
May 19, 2005, 11:26 AM
I have a 12" powerbook combo, and wondered what the hard drive is set to and what the combo drive is set to? Are they the same as the 12" superdrive models?

Well the system profiler on my PB 12" shows 2x ATA buses with the combo drive on one, and the HD on the other. I would presume that both drives are set as masters, but am not prepared to dismantle my PB to check. I see no reason why the superdrive models would be any different.

sammyman
May 19, 2005, 03:52 PM
Well the system profiler on my PB 12" shows 2x ATA buses with the combo drive on one, and the HD on the other. I would presume that both drives are set as masters, but am not prepared to dismantle my PB to check. I see no reason why the superdrive models would be any different.

I don't think that both drives can be set to master.

kgarner
May 19, 2005, 03:55 PM
I don't think that both drives can be set to master.
They can because they are each on their own bus. If they shared the same bus, then no they couldn't.

blodwyn
May 19, 2005, 04:47 PM
I don't think that both drives can be set to master.

If they are different IDE busses they can be. You can have a master and a slave on each