PDA

View Full Version : iOS 5.0.1 signal bug?




aibo82
Nov 16, 2011, 06:29 AM
Hi

I don't know if this is a known bug?

I charged my iPhone 4 last night went back the battery was 94% and the signal was searching...

Unplugged and hard reset then I got full signal bars but no carrier network name and unable to make calls.

Reset network settings then got searching... Again!

So turned on 3G data and my signal sprang into life turned it back off and it was fine still!

Rebooted phone now stuck Searching... Again. Did the same above signal springs back into life what's up? Seems as if I have to force a signal from my carrier network by enabling 3G then turning it off again.

Yet the iPhone 3GS we got on the same network is fine and another phone on the same network is great.

Any ideas?



Grayburn
Nov 16, 2011, 07:42 AM
No idea why this is happening but i get this on occasions too.

Kyotoma
Nov 16, 2011, 07:59 AM
I haven't noticed anything like this at all.

File a bug report ticket at apple.com

biggy52
Nov 16, 2011, 08:16 AM
Yes it's a known issue being discussed on Apple Discussion forums on factory unlocked iPhones. I'm having the same issue too. :(

I have read many users saying upgrading to a 128k sim helps. Or removing a sim pin code on the sim helps.

Didn't help me though. I never had this problem on iOS 5.0 on the 4S

KPOM
Nov 16, 2011, 08:34 AM
Yes it's a known issue being discussed on Apple Discussion forums on factory unlocked iPhones. I'm having the same issue too. :(

I have read many users saying upgrading to a 128k sim helps. Or removing a sim pin code on the sim helps.

Didn't help me though. I never had this problem on iOS 5.0 on the 4S

I need a SIM pin for security reasons (work requirement), but have noticed this occasionally. In my case, I figured out that if it happens, I don't need to reset network settings, but can simply turn the phone off and on again. Hopefully this will be fixed in iOS 5.0.2.