PDA

View Full Version : I have a mbp, but what I really want is a mb

DryEyez
Nov 16, 2011, 08:16 AM
I'm not the creative type, I studied psychology at university, I love listening to music, web browsing and writing up epic amount of documents. The MBP is nice, I have a 2010 model (I originally bought a 2011 but returned it because I enjoy my lap not melting). Am I the only one who would love to own a macbook and not a macbook pro. I would buy one tomorrow if they were still for sale :(

PS Yes I am considering refurbished as they have core 2 duo same as my 2.4ghz core 2 duo in my mbp which is sufficient for my needs. And I prefer the discrete graphics.

simsaladimbamba
Nov 16, 2011, 08:18 AM
No MacBook ever had a discrete graphics, they all had shared graphics, called an integrated graphics processor (IGP), but the Core 2 Duo MacBooks had a chipset from Nvidia, thus the slightly better graphics.
What is wrong with a MacBook Air?

DryEyez
Nov 16, 2011, 08:26 AM
No MacBook ever had a discrete graphics, they all had shared graphics, called an integrated graphics processor (IGP), but the Core 2 Duo MacBooks had a chipset from Nvidia, thus the slightly better graphics.
What is wrong with a MacBook Air?

ah my mistake, I thought the nvidia 320/330m were discrete. There's nothing wrong with the macbook air apart from the fact you can't upgrade the ram or hdd/ssd and paying for that from Apple is overpriced and for the 850 price whilst I think it's a good price I would hate to have an 11 inch screen. I think the 'economy' laptop that the mb was served well.

cluthz
Nov 16, 2011, 08:29 AM
ah my mistake, I thought the nvidia 320/330m were discrete. There's nothing wrong with the macbook air apart from the fact you can't upgrade the ram or hdd/ssd and paying for that from Apple is overpriced and for the 850 price whilst I think it's a good price I would hate to have an 11 inch screen. I think the 'economy' laptop that the mb was served well.

330m is discrete.

ezramoore