PDA

View Full Version : Replacing HD on a PowerBook...

karilynn
Nov 16, 2011, 12:51 PM
Well, it finally happened. My beloved nearly 7 year old PowerBook finally let me down - the Hard Drive failed. I knew one day it would happen :(

At least I think that's what happened. I was surfing the interwebs, minding my own business, when everything froze and I had to force shut down. I tried to boot it back up - got the lovely screen with a question mark and a folder. I reset the PRAM - same thing. I put in the recovery disk, tried disk repair, got an error. I don't have Disk Warrior and don't want to spend money on it, so I figured I'd just reinstall the OS (have all my stuff backed up). One problem: can't find a disk to install it on. None are listed... I'm guessing this is because my hard drive is dead, dead, dead? :eek:

I'm not very tech savvy. I can install RAM and that's about it. How do I even go about replacing my HD? Where do I find an appropriate hard drive and how do I install it? Am I better off bringing it to an Apple certified tech or am I going to get robbed? Can a novice gal like myself do something like replacing a hard drive in a laptop? :confused:

thanks guys!

simsaladimbamba
Nov 16, 2011, 12:55 PM
Here are guides and links to replacement HDDs, which can help your orientate yourself: http://www.ifixit.com/Browse/PowerBook_G4_Aluminum

eyoungren
Nov 16, 2011, 03:03 PM
You are going to want to find an IDE/PATA notebook drive. Western Digital makes some good ones. Currently, their 320GB HD is the largest out there (AFAIK). I have one of those in one of my PBs. So far it's been a very good and fast drive.

You may have to look hard. IDE is getting old and most new drives now days are SATA. But SATA won't work with your Mac.