PDA

View Full Version : 12GB RAM possible in late 2009 MacBook???




The-Pro
Nov 16, 2011, 05:24 PM
Sup Guys,

I came across a video on youtube of someone playing modern warfare 3 on a late 2009 MacBook. In the description he claims to have 12GB RAM!!! Some youtube user wrote that that is not possible and that 8GB is the max supported, which is true according to pretty much every source. That guy however persists that he has 12 GB and that 12 are also recognized and usable. he says that he has 2x 6GB Kingston RAM modules and that 11.6Gb are being recognized.

So my question is how is this possible??? intel says 8GB is the max and i have never read anywhere that more than 8 is supported. does any one know if this is true? If yes maybe there is a way to get 12GB to work in all other macbooks/pros.
BTW, if you want to see the that vid with the comments type the following into youtube search field : modern warfare 3 on macbook White late 2009

Cheers for clearing up my confusion :D



BasilFawlty
Nov 16, 2011, 05:32 PM
Someone may correct me, but I think 8GB is the limit on that model (same model I have and plan do upgrade from 2 to 8)

devrandom
Nov 16, 2011, 05:35 PM
Would be the first 6GB modules I have ever heard of :eek:

The-Pro
Nov 16, 2011, 05:42 PM
Someone may correct me, but I think 8GB is the limit on that model (same model I have and plan do upgrade from 2 to 8)

Yeh exactly, thats what I thought. 8 is also the limit for all the 2009, 2010 MBP's, 2008 Al MB, 2010 MB.
If this is true with the 12GB then I wanna know how thats possible!! :)

----------

Would be the first 6GB modules I have ever heard of :eek:

Yeh i had never heard of them before aswell!!!!! I searched and found something, but i cant find the link i had anymore. :(

devrandom
Nov 16, 2011, 06:10 PM
Yeh i had never heard of them before aswell!!!!! I searched and found something, but i cant find the link i had anymore. :(
Sure, that wasn't a kit of 3x2GB modules?

GenesisJLS
Nov 16, 2011, 10:58 PM
4 GB is the max stated from Apple (http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1651#link1), although OWC states it can support 8GB. (http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/memory/MacBook/DDR2/)

The-Pro
Nov 17, 2011, 02:20 AM
Sure, that wasn't a kit of 3x2GB modules?

Might have been I guess :D

Im gonna write to that guy and find out what deal is! I want to know!! :D:D

MagicBoy
Nov 17, 2011, 06:52 PM
6GB modules? LOL!

The-Pro
Nov 18, 2011, 03:45 AM
apparently they are Kingston Hyperx special edition modules :D
Google doesn't know them, so im pretty sure they don't exist :D

well he claims that his macbook is overclocked to 3.4GHz and that the 9400M is overclocked too in another video :D
If that were possible im sure someone here would know :D

MagicBoy
Nov 18, 2011, 11:29 AM
Link?

The-Pro
Nov 18, 2011, 02:00 PM
Link?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TCeQBF-bNzQ
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t7oXAVmKOFc

in the description in the second link is where it says 3.4GHz and he says he used refit to achieve this but does't want to say how.

First link is where the discussion is about the RAM.

dukebound85
Nov 18, 2011, 02:02 PM
Someone may correct me, but I think 8GB is the limit on that model (same model I have and plan do upgrade from 2 to 8)

Apple officially says it is 4GB. 8 is supported. Wouldn't be surprised if it could go over 8 at all

nitro912gr
Nov 18, 2011, 02:21 PM
As far as I know it is a cpu/mobo chip limitation at 8GB, so even if somehow this dude managed to manufacture a 6GB module (because there is not 6GB module out there) the system could never start up anyway.

Still however had no idea why apple says that the system take only 4GB.

The-Pro
Nov 18, 2011, 02:25 PM
As far as I know it is a cpu/mobo chip limitation at 8GB, so even if somehow this dude managed to manufacture a 6GB module (because there is not 6GB module out there) the system could never start up anyway.
Yeh I thought it was chip limitation as well. 100% there aren't any and weren't any?


Still however had no idea why apple says that the system take only 4GB.

That was so that people went up and purchased a more expensive 13" macbook pro with the exact same internals if they need more RAM. Smart way of maximizing the profit.

dukebound85
Nov 18, 2011, 02:27 PM
Is there a link showing the limit at 8GB that one of you could provide?

nitro912gr
Nov 18, 2011, 02:44 PM
Is there a link showing the limit at 8GB that one of you could provide?

Scroll down
http://www.ifixit.com/Device/MacBook_Unibody_Model_A1342

Upgrades

There are a number of components in the MacBook Unibody Model A1342 that can be cost effectively upgraded.

RAM: Model A1342 MacBooks can be upgraded to a blazing 8 GB of RAM.

also
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MacBook#Model_specifications_3


Finally to make it as clear as it goes, the macbook has the intel C2D P7550 which is actually the P8400 for OEMs.

So following this:
http://ark.intel.com/products/35569/Intel-Core2-Duo-Processor-P8400-%283M-Cache-2_26-GHz-1066-MHz-FSB%29

by the links at the right side you can select "compatible products" which are the motherboard chipsets that are compatible with the CPU (and as of that one of them is installed in the macbook)

So those chipsets are this
http://ark.intel.com/products/chipsets/35509
and this
http://ark.intel.com/products/chipsets/35515

and as you can read by yourself they both says that the maximun supported RAM is 8GB at 1066Mhz

:)

The-Pro
Nov 18, 2011, 03:14 PM
Thats some serious amount of evidence right there :D

nitro912gr
Nov 18, 2011, 03:23 PM
Also as for the overclocking CPU, even if it was possible it could be an instant meltdown for the whole system, the macbook is getting hot enough as is, imagine now to raise the clock that high.

There is a reason that overclockers spend some serious amounts of money at giant air cooling solutions, or other liquid cooling ones.

Not to mention that it is not, by anyway possible to have the higher graphic settings at the game, because simple the 9400M can't do that.

So we have here 3 lies, and a dude who try in the worst possible way to get page views in his videos.

The-Pro
Nov 19, 2011, 02:55 PM
Guess we've come to the conclusion he's an utter idiot :D Got it

Cheers, solves my confusion there :)

Sonhascome
Nov 23, 2011, 11:33 AM
yea 8gb is max

GGJstudios
Nov 23, 2011, 11:45 AM
You can find specs on all Apple products, including maximum RAM:
By visiting EveryMac.com (http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/index-apple-specs-applespec.html)
By using Mactracker (http://mactracker.dreamhosters.com/)
By entering your serial number here (http://support.apple.com/specs/) to find specs for your model. (Be aware that some models can use more RAM than Apple shows. Check EveryMac or MacTracker to verify.)