PDA

View Full Version : Volume Control for External Displays




qwerf123
Nov 18, 2011, 06:35 AM
I have connected my MBA to an external display (HDMI) and I want to be able to use the volume buttons on the keyboard to control the sound level like when your are not using a display and just the Mac.

I think I have seen the setting somewhere to turn it on in the past but can't find it now.

Would anyone know how I can fix this or is it not possible?

Thanks



simsaladimbamba
Nov 18, 2011, 06:38 AM
What does System Preferences > Sound > Output say and what is selected?

qwerf123
Nov 18, 2011, 06:41 AM
It says Internal speakers and Sony TV (the display I am using).

Sony TV is selected, and below it, it states the selected device has no output control. Is this why I can't do it?

simsaladimbamba
Nov 18, 2011, 06:46 AM
It says Internal speakers and Sony TV (the display I am using).

Sony TV is selected, and below it, it states the selected device has no output control. Is this why I can't do it?

I guess, as it is a direct line out signal and not something like headphones or similar. Thus the TV seems to be the only way to adjust volume, though I could be wrong.
Maybe have a look at Advanced Search to find similar threads:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/10644330/MR_Image_Hotlinks/MR_screenshots/MR_screenshots_2011_11/2011_11_02_pB1_MR_advSearch_small.png (http://dl.dropbox.com/u/10644330/MR_Image_Hotlinks/MR_screenshots/MR_screenshots_2011_11/2011_11_02_pB2_MR_advSearch.png)

qwerf123
Nov 18, 2011, 06:48 AM
I think you are right. Tried searching elsewhere already but can't get a fix. Thanks anyway