Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

icydog

macrumors member
Original poster
Dec 24, 2008
NJ
I have a MBA and I like it. But I am not sure I would want it as my only computer. I can do more with my iMac than with the portable that much I know.

My SIL wants a Mac Laptop for Christmas. I am steering him towards a Macbook Pro since it will be the main computer in the house. It is substantially more expensive so the decision should be well thought out.

Am I correct in my advice?

jackc

macrumors 65816
Oct 19, 2003
It depends, obviously.

But I think for many people, it would be fine as a main computer.

aph3x

macrumors member
Jun 28, 2007
Reno, NV
For me it is my only computer. Last week I sold my '08 Unibody MacBook Pro. It had the 2.4GHz Core2Duo w/ 8GB RAM and a 120GB OCZ SSD.

After selling that I purchased the 13" Air with the i7 processor, 4GB RAM and 256GB SSD.

I couldn't be happier. I never used the optical drive and when I need to I have a little external that I had before. The resolution on my MBA is the same as my MBP was and the screen is LESS glossy on the Air which is great.

For me I don't miss the discreet GPU on the MBP - I never really used it.

Lastly - the battery on the air lasts so long that even though I take my air with me every where I go I never need the charger because it lasts practically a full work day (7 hours).

So yes, I think it can easily be your only computer.

scarred

macrumors 6502a
Jul 24, 2011
The only thing it can't do is play the latest 3d games. Otherwise yup, absolutely, this is just great as an only computer. It is a very capable machine and would easily recommend it to anyone.

blevins321

macrumors 68030
Dec 24, 2010
Detroit, MI