PDA

View Full Version : US ATV in the UK




gonzoh
Nov 19, 2011, 11:18 AM
With Christmas approaching I am thinking of giving my sister in the UK an ATV. Thing is they are a lot cheaper in the US than the UK relatively speaking.
If I bought a US ATV and took it to the UK would it work?

I see it has a universal PSU and the spec pages say it does 50/60 hz so would suggest a PAL/NTSC capability. Output is HDMI so do UK TV's have HDMI or are they still using those stupid SKART connectors!

any one have any thoughts

Thanks

George



Gav2k
Nov 19, 2011, 11:58 AM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

Yes it would

AdrianK
Nov 19, 2011, 12:11 PM
Output is HDMI so do UK TV's have HDMI or are they still using those stupid SKART connectors!
Well, they sell the ATV2 in the UK with HDMI as the only option for video out...

My US ATV1 works fine in the UK using a standard two prong lead.

vrDrew
Nov 19, 2011, 01:51 PM
The bad old days when a TV or other electronic device bought in one country wouldn't work in another are (largely) a thing of the past. Thanks to globalization, and the widespread introduction of digital High Definition TV service, most such devices can cross borders with only minimal help.

The only issue I think you'd face is the power cord. You could simply use an adapter, which can be bought for $5 or so from any decent electrical store. More challenging, but an overall neater installation, would be to locate the correct spec. electrical cord itself. I don't know if Apple sells them, or if the AppleTV uses a standard power jack.

The only other "downside" to AppleTV in the UK is the absence of Netflix, which I've found makes up a sizable portion of my AppleTV usage. But hey- you can't have everything.

itickings
Nov 19, 2011, 03:46 PM
More challenging, but an overall neater installation, would be to locate the correct spec. electrical cord itself. I don't know if Apple sells them, or if the AppleTV uses a standard power jack.

Very standard and very cheap. No worries.

gonzoh
Nov 19, 2011, 05:26 PM
Thanks for all your help. That solves one christmas present. Now what for everyone else!

GLOC
Dec 25, 2011, 04:56 PM
As a follow up to this, do I need a US iTunes ac to use a US ATV2 in the UK?

Regards

DefBref
Dec 26, 2011, 01:11 AM
No, there is no difference between a US or UK ATV2. All that will happen if you don't use a US account then the netflix option will disappear from the menu.

DOMCHO101
Dec 26, 2011, 02:28 AM
Now how about a spin on this question, which I've been meaning to ask for a while now... What about a US ATV2 in the Czech Republic?

The difference here is simple, they don't sell Apple TV's in Czech.