PDA

View Full Version : ATV2 and Home Sharing




Omne666
Nov 20, 2011, 03:33 AM
Hi all...

Has anyone else noticed that since the advent of the ATV2 & Home Sharing, not all shares are equal?

I noticed firstly that when one of my kids was using an ATV2, the ATV1 in my bedroom had no chance of playing anything. If it did manage to load the library, it would stutter and eventually crash trying to play anything. I just put that down to Home Sharing taking more priority over the older 'Shared Library' way of connecting.

However, I have an iPad2 sitting on top of a B&O system, put together just this week for my wife, and the iPad2 uses home sharing. And when one of my daughters played audio music to an ATV2.....the iPad2 system stuttered and died.

I must say, this is a rather pathetic situation if its solely the ATV2 causing it. All my systems are hardwired in, but not the iPhones/iPads obviously.

Anyone else experiencing this??



marc11
Nov 20, 2011, 04:12 AM
Not sure, your issue must be something else, I am home sharing to my ATV2 and iPhone playing songs on my MBP and writing this message all from the same machine, all from the same shared library, all on the same wireless network and everything is smooth as silk.

Omne666
Nov 20, 2011, 05:40 AM
Now thats a bugger! Not that yours works fine....its as I would expect, but that because mine hasn't from day dot when an ATV2 was added to the mix.

Now I've got to try and isolate the why of it!

marc11
Nov 20, 2011, 05:47 AM
Really odd, if it weren't for the crashing I would think maybe it was a wifi issue, but the crashing is odd...

Macman45
Nov 20, 2011, 05:55 AM
Now thats a bugger! Not that yours works fine....its as I would expect, but that because mine hasn't from day dot when an ATV2 was added to the mix.

Now I've got to try and isolate the why of it!

Your router to me. Not all are created equal, and the ISP provided ones really are poor offerings. I can stream from multiple sources to my 7.1 DTS, and video without issues, but I use a good quality router.

A gigabit is a must, many companies offer them, but I use a Draytek. Not advertising, just my choice....Look for one with good specs. whichever you choose.

marc11
Nov 20, 2011, 05:59 AM
I am running mine through an AEBS if that helps the OP, pretty good router IMHO.

Macman45
Nov 20, 2011, 06:00 AM
I am running mine through an AEBS if that helps the OP, pretty good router IMHO.

Many good ones out there, but If the OP has an ISP supplied unit, a new one is a must IMO

Omne666
Nov 20, 2011, 06:39 AM
I'd be thinking the router also, except for the fact re the ATV1 -> ATV2 conflict has been going across a couple of ADSL modem routers.

Now, to really complicate things, I just sat in my lounge with 2 ATV2s running, 3 iPads (1&2), a laptop using iTunes drawing from the main Library, and the last ATV1 running a movie, and not a hiccup!!!

I'm talking about months of hassles here, and the moment I decide to sort it out, it goes and performs flawlessly.

I even replaced the iPad2 onto the B&O system whilst it was playing, and not a bump!

Now I'm really puzzled!

Re the ATV1 -> ATV2 hassles, it was like death and taxes! I even knew one of my kids was playing their ATV2 just by how long it took to load the library!

----------

Just to give you and idea of setup:

Belkin Modem Router -> Apple Time Machine -> 8 Port Netgear Gigabit Switch -> 4 Port Switch (On another floor)

Off the AppleTM -> ATV1, ATV2, 8 Port Switch,

Off the 8 Port Switch -> iMac Library, ATV2, Printer, 4 Port Switch

Off the 4 Port Switch -> Win7 PC, Printer, Security System

----------

This was happening BEFORE the 4 Port Switch setup happened so I can discount that.


The Belkin Modem Router use to be a Netgear Modem Router which died a while back but I had the same issues.

The 8 Port Switch use to control ALL the ATVs (used to be 3 ATV1s & 2 ATv2s) plus linked then to the AppleTM which sat next to the iMac Library. Still had the problem then. Rearranged to reduce cables and possible issues.

Shawnpk
Nov 20, 2011, 09:59 AM
I can tell you that I have 2 ATV2's and I've streamed movies to both at the same time while streaming music to my iPad all from the same iTunes library on my MacBook Pro. All of this is done over WiFi and I don't have a great connection: 2.02MB max. I did change out my ISP supplied router for an Airport Extreme so maybe that helps.

Omne666
Nov 20, 2011, 08:35 PM
I did change out my ISP supplied router for an Airport Extreme so maybe that helps.

Correct me if I'm wrong...AE's are not modems though, so using DSL, I need a modem in between the hole in the wall and the AE right? I'd love to get rid of that item in the setup.

I was looking at making the modem a bridge only and letting the Apple TM handle NAT and DCHP, but the ISP didn't like that idea, and networking isn't my strongest point, so doing it alone would be an exercise in pain.

Shawnpk
Nov 20, 2011, 09:23 PM
Correct me if I'm wrong...AE's are not modems though, so using DSL, I need a modem in between the hole in the wall and the AE right? I'd love to get rid of that item in the setup.

I was looking at making the modem a bridge only and letting the Apple TM handle NAT and DCHP, but the ISP didn't like that idea, and networking isn't my strongest point, so doing it alone would be an exercise in pain.

Correct, you will still need a modem between the entry point of your DSL and the Airport Extreme. I found the supplied router from my ISP wasn't cutting it and as soon as I changed from the supplied router to the Airport Extreme, most of my problems were solved. What solved the rest of my problems was changing the channel which my AE used.