Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

bender644

macrumors member
Original poster
Feb 23, 2008
Hello,

I have a MBA (one of the very new ones) and of course, there still is quite a bit of time on the warranty, maybe another 8 months or so.

A little while ago, I put it to sleep, then in a case and in my bag. When I got home 30 minutes after, I took it out of my bag and the fan was running on full speed. It was pretty hot. Everything's been fine since, and it hasn't done it again. It's really been put to the test.

I'm not sure if I'm going to pay for an extended warranty with Apple, and basically I'd like your thoughts on what kinds of things you would do to check the MBA's sturdiness before the warranty is up. I'd like to make sure it can handle the toughest tasks so I'm not presented with any surprises 8 months from now.

Thanks for your comments.

Bender

Vudoo

macrumors 6502a
Sep 30, 2008
Dallas Metroplex
Run the diagnostics on it. By the way, it's not a good idea to leave a power on laptop in a bag. Ventilation can be blocked causing it to overheat.

mgartner0622

macrumors 65816
Jun 6, 2010
Colorado, USA
That fan issue happened all the time to me when I had my Mid-2010 MacBook Pro. It appears to be some sort of driver issue, which I'm pretty sure was fixed with the 10.7.2 update.
Other than that, I would say just take your computer into the genius bar about a week before the warranty is up and have them run a hardware test on it to make sure it passes. At that time also be sure to mention any issue you may be having.