PDA

View Full Version : Win OS on Apple machine?

BikeDude
Oct 13, 2002, 10:22 AM
Hi there,

Please don't linch me for this seemingly freakish question, as I am a newbie with Macs.
But I'm just curious, since the hardware on Macs and PCs are pretty much the same, exapt mayby for CPU architecture, is it feasable to load a Windows OS on a Mac machine, or vice versa?:eek:

al256
Oct 13, 2002, 10:44 AM
Nope, but you can emulate windows. Connectix makes Virtual PC which is a product that emulates the x86 processor. You can emulate windows and linux (there are native version of linux for PPC too). Windows machines can emulate old version of the Mac OS (8.0 and older), any Mac OS that supports processors before PPC.

beez7777
Oct 13, 2002, 10:45 AM
yea closest u'll come is vpc

irmongoose
Oct 13, 2002, 10:45 AM
No, you can't. I don't know the technical reasons, but you can't. The only way to do it is to use a PC emulator, such as Virtual PC (http://www.connectix.com/products/vpc5m.html), which emulates a Windows PC as an app.

I'm sure other people know the technical reasons.. anyone?

irmongoose

Nipsy
Oct 13, 2002, 11:42 AM
There was some information here on a convoluted way to launch Virtual PC on boot as the machine's primary OS about 3 months ago.

This is as close as you can come, although I never tried to verify it. Apparently VPC ran faster this way because there was no MacOS overhead.

GeeYouEye
Oct 13, 2002, 11:50 AM
Originally posted by Nipsy
There was some information here on a convoluted way to launch Virtual PC on boot as the machine's primary OS about 3 months ago.

This is as close as you can come, although I never tried to verify it. Apparently VPC ran faster this way because there was no MacOS overhead.