PDA

View Full Version : Does the PM G4 Read PC-3200 as PC-2700??


law guy
May 21, 2005, 09:35 PM
All -

I've just upgraded my PM G4 dual 1.42 to 2 GB of RAM using a Ramjet kit. The Ramjet kit says it's PC-3200 RAM, http://www.ramjet.com/ItemDescription.asp?Item=G4D2G but all four DIMMS are listed in my system info screen as PC-2700u-25330 (the same as my OEM PC-2700 Samsung DIMM). I can't read the actual DIMMS b/c they have that metal RAMJET cover on them. I checked the website again and, indeed, it says PC-3200, 400 MHz RAM is what is used in the kit.

Is there any chance my G4 is simply misreading the RAM or is RAMJET sending me something other than what they advertised? I had thought they were among the more reputable (linked to by Apple under the made4mac section), so I wouldn't expect that - thus the system read question.

If it's a system read problem - any notions on how to fix it? Have the system redefine the RAM correctly?

Thanks very much.

solvs
May 21, 2005, 09:53 PM
It's possible you got different RAM, but it won't matter. Even if your Mac could fully utilize 3200, it will only run at 2700 speed anyway. Both because it will run at the same speed as what you already have in there, and because the RAM speeds for that Mac are 2700 (333MHz, 167DDR). It won't run any faster. If the 2700 is cheaper, you should have just gotten that, but if it's roughly the same price (especially if you plan on upgrading to a new G5 Mac later, which does use 3200) it couldn't hurt.

law guy
May 21, 2005, 10:10 PM
It's possible you got different RAM, but it won't matter. Even if your Mac could fully utilize 3200, it will only run at 2700 speed anyway. Both because it will run at the same speed as what you already have in there, and because the RAM speeds for that Mac are 2700 (333MHz, 167DDR). It won't run any faster. If the 2700 is cheaper, you should have just gotten that, but if it's roughly the same price (especially if you plan on upgrading to a new G5 Mac later, which does use 3200) it couldn't hurt.

All right - could anyone tell me if the g4 PM may be misreading the PC3200 as 2700? (Ramjust doesn't sell the 2700 for the g4, only ADVERTISES the 3200) I'm trying to figure out what I have, not focusing on issues like whether the lower latency of DDR400 helps even at 333, etc. Wouldn't even know if this could be used in a G5 as I'm trying to figure out if this is 3200 or not.

Rocksaurus
May 21, 2005, 10:46 PM
I'm not 100% sure, but I think that if the RAM's running at 2700 the Mac will report that to you even if it's 3200. I could be wrong though.

law guy
May 23, 2005, 12:08 PM
I'm not 100% sure, but I think that if the RAM's running at 2700 the Mac will report that to you even if it's 3200. I could be wrong though.

Thanks - I spoke to Ramjet this AM. They confirm that it's just how the G4 PM reads it. They assured me that these DIMMS are 3200 and could be used as a carry-over to a current generation G5. Thanks again for the help.