PDA

View Full Version : Trade Macbook Air for Pro

nesu
Nov 22, 2011, 08:58 PM
Greets everyone,

I'm currently a freshman in college. I purchased one of the new 128G 11 inch MacBook Airs right before the start of school. I absolutely love everything about it -- except for the keyboard. It's mushy, shallow, and the keys have almost no travel at all. I really, really, wanted to like it, but it's no use. With as many papers as I have to write, the keyboard is a deal breaker.

Since getting an external keyboard is impractical, my only option is to get the smallest MacBook Pro instead. What would be the best way to somehow trade in my Air for a Pro? My Air is in perfect condition since it had a Spec hardcase around it from the get go. Price wise, they should be about the same, but Apple's trade in program only offers me $700 (for a "like new" $1200 laptop!). Any ideas?

Thanks.

altecXP
Nov 22, 2011, 09:00 PM
I use a mac USB keyboard in my office, a 15in when away from my desk and a 13in air when home. Sometimes with Bluetooth KB. I don't notice any difference in them

nesu
Nov 22, 2011, 09:10 PM
Everyone tells me that until I have them try the two side by side. The Air keys are just too shallow for me; they feel too soft. The MacBook Pro keys have nice tactile, discreet firmness to them that gives way nicely when pressed.

It's probably more of an issue with me than with Apple's design, but my speed and accuracy drop by about 30-40 percent on the Air.

Risasi
Nov 22, 2011, 09:31 PM
Wow, you're pretty sensitive. I've noticed the difference also and pointed it out to all my co-workers. They thought I was crazy until I lined up my 13" MBP against their 13" MBA's. The difference doesn't bother me enough, I could use either one and spend time on other servers and user workstation with a plethora of various keyboards. (I really hate the MS split keyboard).