PDA

View Full Version : HDMI problems




snowwhite007
Nov 24, 2011, 12:52 PM
Hi guys when i connect my Air to the tv its only the Background that is showing up any ideas whats happening? Do i need something extra?:confused:



Macman45
Nov 24, 2011, 01:01 PM
Hi guys when i connect my Air to the tv its only the Background that is showing up any ideas whats happening? Do i need something extra?:confused:

How are you connecting....? HDMI to an HDMI input on a HD TV? It can be a little tricky to get it going, NTS PAL settings need to be right too. Post back with specs. of TV and MB

snowwhite007
Nov 24, 2011, 01:25 PM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

Im using my thunderbolt port with mini dispay to hdmi. Then hdmi to telly. Its a 42" full HD tv

Macman45
Nov 24, 2011, 01:27 PM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

Im using my thunderbolt port with mini dispay to hdmi. Then hdmi to telly. Its a 42" full HD tv

The TV, can't be much wrong that a little tweaking won't fix.

simsaladimbamba
Nov 24, 2011, 01:32 PM
Hi guys when i connect my Air to the tv its only the Background that is showing up any ideas whats happening? Do i need something extra?:confused:

No, you just see the extended Desktop. If you move your mouse pointer to the right, you see it on the TV.
To see the contents of the MBA's display on the TV:
System Preferences > Displays >> Arrangement >>> Mirror Displays (http://www.usingmac.com/2008/6/19/setting-mirror-display-for-your-mac) (but know, that the display with the lowest resolution determines the maximum resolution used on both, thus one display will have a lower than native resolution, except when both displays have the same native resolution)
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/10644330/MR_Image_Hotlinks/MR_screenshots/MR_screenshots_05_2011/MR_mirrordisplays.png

How to: Connect a MacBook, MacBook Air, or MacBook Pro to a TV (http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=792106)
Most common video interfaces on external computer displays and TVs

Common video interfaces on Macs and the appropriate adapters to connect to other display devices

Most common audio interfaces on external computer displays, TVs and the Mac

snowwhite007
Nov 24, 2011, 01:53 PM
awesome dude working perfect now. All i need is the audio cable now cheers Man appreciate it

simsaladimbamba
Nov 24, 2011, 01:55 PM
awesome dude working perfect now. All i need is the audio cable now cheers Man appreciate it

Look at System Preferences > Sound > Output and if the MDP>HDMI adapter you use supports audio.

snowwhite007
Nov 24, 2011, 02:36 PM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

Ach doesnt support audio gutted cheap ebay rubbish