PDA

View Full Version : BF3 Problems




carlili4190
Nov 25, 2011, 09:36 AM
Hey guys. I bought BF3 when it came out and played perfectly fine for the past 2 weeks.
After the patch that recently came out I can't play the game for more then a minute without it crashing(IE computer freezes up and I have to force shutdown) Does anyone have any idea why?

I do use SMCfancontrol to keep the comp at a cooler temp.

15" Macbook Pro(Early 2011)
AMD Radeon HD 6750M with 1024MB VRam
4 GB Ram
2.3 GHZ I7 quad core



carlili4190
Nov 25, 2011, 03:30 PM
Any help? This is really starting to get on my nerves. I tried reinstalling the AMD drivers and still nothing.

deadwulfe
Nov 25, 2011, 07:28 PM
First thing I'd suggest is going into Origin and turning off any overlay features, Origin In-Game, or whatever they want to call it in their settings.

If that doesn't help, you'll need to give more info. Are you over-clocking? Any programs running in the background? Which drivers are you using?

carlili4190
Nov 25, 2011, 09:21 PM
First thing I'd suggest is going into Origin and turning off any overlay features, Origin In-Game, or whatever they want to call it in their settings.

If that doesn't help, you'll need to give more info. Are you over-clocking? Any programs running in the background? Which drivers are you using?

I'm not overclocking.
Only thing running in the background would be Firefox
AMD 6750M 11.11 Drivers

Standard
Nov 26, 2011, 10:22 AM
I'm not overclocking.
Only thing running in the background would be Firefox
AMD 6750M 11.11 Drivers

same machine here, and same issues. I try to configure the graphics and with certain specifications it just freezes the game. it's becoming a pain in the ass..waste of 70 dollars.

deadwulfe
Nov 26, 2011, 04:19 PM
The only difference between you two and my setup is that I'm still using the 11.10 drivers.

Have you gone into Origin's settings and uncheck the in-game feature? I've read that it has caused some people problems.

If that doesn't help, it's probably an installation issue. I think you may need to rename or delete a file to get Origin to check the installation. You can try renaming the BF3.exe to force Origin to check the installation.

Also, here are a couple of problem fix threads I've come across in the past:

http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1646594
http://portal.thetgc.org/showthread.php/10397-BF3-Tweaks

carlili4190
Nov 26, 2011, 05:26 PM
The only difference between you two and my setup is that I'm still using the 11.10 drivers.

Have you gone into Origin's settings and uncheck the in-game feature? I've read that it has caused some people problems.

If that doesn't help, it's probably an installation issue. I think you may need to rename or delete a file to get Origin to check the installation. You can try renaming the BF3.exe to force Origin to check the installation.

Also, here are a couple of problem fix threads I've come across in the past:

http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1646594
http://portal.thetgc.org/showthread.php/10397-BF3-Tweaks

Do you know if there is a way to downgrade to the 11.10 drivers? I think that would be the main issue. I've tried completely deleting BF3 and reinstalling it, running as ADMIN, everything.

VPrime
Nov 26, 2011, 06:58 PM
A LOT of people are experiencing crashing since the last update. REgular PC users too. I don't think it has any thing to do with your specific hardware.

I cant even get the game to launch since the last update :(

shardey
Nov 27, 2011, 12:17 AM
Is this affecting people with 11.11 only or anyone who has updated BF3 lately?

carlili4190
Nov 27, 2011, 02:20 PM
Update: Don't know what I did but the game plays like absolute ****. I can get in the game but its "Lagging" horribly. I'm playing on low and maybe getting 2-3 FPS. Anyone know what this is about?

Again I tried to reinstall all the drivers
Uninstall the game


I think I am going to send the game into EA so they can send me a copy that I can return.

Its so frustrating knowing that the game worked PERFECTLY before and now its unplayable.

carlili4190
Nov 30, 2011, 05:33 PM
Update: Don't know what I did but the game plays like absolute ****. I can get in the game but its "Lagging" horribly. I'm playing on low and maybe getting 2-3 FPS. Anyone know what this is about?

Again I tried to reinstall all the drivers
Uninstall the game


I think I am going to send the game into EA so they can send me a copy that I can return.

Its so frustrating knowing that the game worked PERFECTLY before and now its unplayable.


Update on this.

My HD crashed so this game is a complete waste. I'm pretty sure my HD crashing had something to do with BF3 or Bootcamp

MasterTick
Dec 1, 2011, 09:36 AM
Update on this.

My HD crashed so this game is a complete waste. I'm pretty sure my HD crashing had something to do with BF3 or Bootcamp

Hard drives die all the time, it's not BF3 or Windows fault.

shardey
Dec 2, 2011, 12:23 PM
Update on this.

My HD crashed so this game is a complete waste. I'm pretty sure my HD crashing had something to do with BF3 or Bootcamp

You just contradicted yourself. You said your hard drive crashed, but blaming the game?

Faulty drive, and also try installing 11.10 drivers instead of 11.11

carlili4190
Dec 2, 2011, 03:21 PM
Hard drives die all the time, it's not BF3 or Windows fault.

Computer was bought in August. So it was a new computer.


You just contradicted yourself. You said your hard drive crashed, but blaming the game?

Faulty drive, and also try installing 11.10 drivers instead of 11.11

Already had tried 11.10 drivers. I believe that the game is a reason to why the HD crashed. I wasn't using the computer except for battlefield and school work.

shardey
Dec 2, 2011, 04:29 PM
Computer was bought in August. So it was a new computer.




Already had tried 11.10 drivers. I believe that the game is a reason to why the HD crashed. I wasn't using the computer except for battlefield and school work.

If it failed this early from gaming, it is for sure a faulty hard drive to begin with.

Have you gotten a new drive yet and tried to see if it works yet?

auhlixer
Dec 4, 2011, 11:36 AM
early 2011
2.3ghz
15.4"
16GB
Win 64bit pro on a ocz agility 2 120gb

https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-ecnDNCetN7c/Ttuu3tSmyTI/AAAAAAAAAAk/kGVqaBM1Ydk/s576/IMG_2336.jpg

It was lagging pretty bad.
I believe it is on high settings 1920 x 1080


Thanks for how to turn off the overlay it pisses me off