PDA

View Full Version : Which :apple: is best?




Zeke D
Nov 29, 2011, 09:37 PM
I have the following G3 iMacs:

350Mhz/512k cache - Rage128/8MB
400Mhz/512k cache - Rage128/8MB
500Mhz/256k cache - Rage128/16MB
600Mhz/256k cache - Rage128/16MB

I know the 400 is better than the 350, and I know the 600 is better than the 500, but what about the rest? I know 16MB vid is better than 8MB, and I know 512k L2 is better than 256k L2. But of all these units, which one is the best?



Intell
Nov 29, 2011, 09:40 PM
I have the following G3 iMacs:

350Mhz/512k cache - Rage128/8MB
400Mhz/512k cache - Rage128/8MB
500Mhz/256k cache - Rage128/16MB
600Mhz/256k cache - Rage128/16MB

I know the 400 is better than the 350, and I know the 600 is better than the 500, but what about the rest? I know 16MB vid is better than 8MB, and I know 512k L2 is better than 256k L2. But of all these units, which one is the best?

Going by just what you have posted there and assuming the colour doesn't matter, the 600Mhz one is the best.

Goftrey
Nov 30, 2011, 03:07 AM
Yes, the 600 is a far better machine than the others, the family had a 600 G3 iMac years and years ago... Nice machines, I love the iMac G3's myself :D

chrismacguy
Nov 30, 2011, 06:14 AM
See if you told us the RAM in each we could give a better answer (A 512MB Equipped G3/400 is more useable than say a G3/700 with 128MB RAM), although with what you've said the 600 is the best. (I have a 500Mhz iMac G3 - Pretty speedy machine for non-altivec things).

Zeke D
Nov 30, 2011, 08:06 AM
See if you told us the RAM in each we could give a better answer (A 512MB Equipped G3/400 is more useable than say a G3/700 with 128MB RAM), although with what you've said the 600 is the best. (I have a 500Mhz iMac G3 - Pretty speedy machine for non-altivec things).

Since the ram can be moved from one unit to the next, you can assume that they all have the same amount.

Goftrey
Nov 30, 2011, 08:12 AM
Since the ram can be moved from one unit to the next, you can assume that they all have the same amount.

...Can you give us the amount of RAM in one of them and/or all of them? ;)

Zeke D
Nov 30, 2011, 09:01 AM
...can you give us the amount of ram in one of them and/or all of them? ;)

384mb