PDA

View Full Version : AC-3 lossy and iPhone 4




nateo200
Dec 1, 2011, 06:47 PM
Hey guys! Just a quick question I am really confused about. I have been searching for topics on whether my iPhone 4 with iOS 5 will support AC-3? I've heard you have to encode with one AAC and one AC-3 but with the AAC track first...?...idk I read a bunch of threads but they are dated and a bit confusing...I didn't think Apple liked multiple audio tracks in an .m4v container, especially when using it on a mobile device. I'm about to encode an Mkv which is in 6 channel discrete so I just want to know before I encode an 8gigabyte MKV into H.264...



blueroom
Dec 1, 2011, 06:52 PM
If you're using Handbrake; use the ATV2 setting for all your iOS devices.

The .m4v audio tracks are

1. AAC (mandatory)
2. AC3 (optional)
3. AAC (optional, comentary, etc)

The iPhone will ignore the AC3 track, but it does need the AAC track.

nateo200
Dec 1, 2011, 06:54 PM
If you're using Handbrake; use the ATV2 setting for all your iOS devices.

The .m4v audio tracks are

1. AAC (mandatory)
2. AC3 (optional)
3. AAC (optional, comentary, etc)

The iPhone will ignore the second track, but it does need the AAC track.
Thank you! I really really appreciate the prompt response!

blueroom
Dec 1, 2011, 06:58 PM
You're welcome.

If you AirPlay to an ATV2 from the iPhone it'll use the AC3 track (you can select different tracks by holding down the Play button on the remote during playback)