PDA

View Full Version : Screen Saver and remote desktop apps




etsi
Dec 2, 2011, 10:31 AM
Hello,

I had a problem using remote desktop utilities like vnc, logmein, etc. I could log in in my local lan but when I was away it didn't work. I thought about having someone to press any key on the keyboard to wake up the monitor and guess what, it worked! I could login remotely.

I only use display sleep after some minutes, can this cause the problem? Computer sleep is set to never. Anyway I would like to share my experience because I have seen a lot of people having trouble to use vnc.

Do I have to disable anything else ? But why Display sleep doesn't allow remote login? However when the display sleep is activated I can ping my mac mini server.



AlanShutko
Dec 2, 2011, 10:54 AM
I've only used Apple's built-in screen sharing and Apple Remote Desktop. Neither of which have any problems if the display is in power-saving mode, or if it's in a screen saver. (Well, if it's a graphically intense screensaver it's way SLOW, so I set it just to blank the screen.) Once I connect, it wakes up the screen and I can type my password to get in (screensaver lock).

What are you connecting to on the Mac Mini? Is it the default screen sharing built into OS X or something else?

etsi
Dec 2, 2011, 11:21 AM
Right now I am using RealVNC. It works as long as Display is not entering in sleep mode. I had problem with Screen sharing too but I haven't tested it yet. RealVNC couldn't even connect, it closed the connection immediately.

I tried to enable screen sharing, it's very slow ti displayed the login screen. Using realvnc it just asks for username and password but it displayes the desktop directly. Now I lost the connection to mac mini seems like screen sharing doesn't work properly at least with RealVNC viewer.

I like realvnc better because the client supports proxy and I need that feature.

GGJstudios
Dec 2, 2011, 11:58 AM
I had a problem using remote desktop utilities like vnc, logmein, etc. I could log in in my local lan but when I was away it didn't work. I thought about having someone to press any key on the keyboard to wake up the monitor and guess what, it worked! I could login remotely.

I only use display sleep after some minutes, can this cause the problem?
Whether the display sleeps or not should have no impact at all on remote desktop apps. You don't even need to have a display attached. I use TeamViewer (www.teamviewer.com), which works with Windows, Mac OS X, Linux, Ubuntu, iPhone, iPad, etc. It's very secure and quite simple to set up and use.... and it's free for personal use.