Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Fredman Jr.

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 8, 2002
I have been holding out on buying a Mac for a few months now hoping I would see some new towers at this MacWorld. I was looking at the mid range QuickSilvers before the expo but am now in a toss up between it and the top of the line iMac.

I have a couple questions...
1)Does this video mirroring allow me to hook up my 19" CRT monitor and use it?
2)If so, can I use it at higher resolutions than 1024x768?
3)I have 512MB of RAM in my G4 right now. Will one of the 256MB chips work in the iMac(its 133mhz RAM)

These are the drawbacks I'm facing. I will be keeping my G4 350mhz only if I go for the iMac(otherwise I will have to sell it to get money). If I keep it and have the iMac I can set up a small render farm(very small) and therefore render faster. Thanks in advance for the help.

chrismear

macrumors newbie
Jan 5, 2002
London
Not sure about the RAM, but:

Video mirroring means that the external monitor displays EXACTLY THE SAME as what is on the iMac's built-in screen. This means that the external monitor runs at the same resolution as the built-in screen.

So, yes, you can hook up your 19" CRT, but you will not be able to go above 1024x768, as this is the max resolution of the built-in screen.

And also, it won't be an extended desktop (e.g. 2048x768). You'll just get two displays of the same 1024x768 desktop.

Hope this helps!

evildead

macrumors 65816
Jun 18, 2001
WestCost, USA
RAM

I have a fealing that the RAM will work. The last iMac started useing the full size DIMS so ... I bet this one will to. My Rev-A iMac did not. It used the smaller PowerBook RAM. Pain in the ass and 2x as expensive (at the time)