PDA

View Full Version : Warcraft III (DotA) using Parallels Desktop




ArturBalthazar
Dec 3, 2011, 08:51 AM
Hey,

I just started using Parallels Desktop with the only objective of playing DotA. I use Windows 7 Ultimate x64. Everything went alright until I installed warcraft.exe. I downloaded the Warcraft III ROC and TFT, both .exe and .iso files. Burned them and installed both, but when I try to patch it, I get errors all the time. Now it's saying this:

Blizzard PrePatch v2.70 compiled on Jul 7 2003
This program patches Warcraft 3

Log created at 12:23 pm on 12/03/2011

ERROR: unable to create file 'C:\Program Files (x86)\Warcraft III\BNUpdate.exe'
System couldn't find the specified way.

RESULT: Prepatch failed

The installation created a folder named "Warcraft III Folder" and inside it there are the following files: AI scripts; Campaigns; Maps; Miles; Movies; ReadMe (these were folders); Blizzard Video Support; BNUpdate; Miles Carbon Library;The Frozen Throne; War3; War3x; War3xLocal; Warcraft III; Warcraft III World Editor.

I also can't open TFT, only ROC, dunno why.. Someone know what's going on?



Cougarcat
Dec 3, 2011, 01:02 PM
WC3 runs natively in os x. You'll need a snow leopard installation to get it installed, though, as the installer is not intel native.

ArturBalthazar
Dec 3, 2011, 02:22 PM
WC3 runs natively in os x. You'll need a snow leopard installation to get it installed, though, as the installer is not intel native.

what do you mean with snow leopard installation? where's the problem, on my mac, my parallels desktop or my WC3?

Cougarcat
Dec 3, 2011, 03:54 PM
I don't know how to fix your problem. I'm trying to tell you there's an easier and better way without Parallels. 10.7 removed Rosetta, which allowed older PPC apps to function. WC3 is intel-native, but still has a PPC installer. Here's how you can get around that:

if you have 10.6, or access to 10.6 Snow Leopard:

-If you have 10.6 installed, then you can install WC3 without issue. Since you are trying to install it in Parallels, I expect this is not the case.
-If you have a 10.6 disk handy, but are running 10.7, install 10.6 on an external drive, boot from it, install the game, patch it, and drag it over to your Lion installation.
-If you do not have 10.6, or have a Mac that can't run it (July 2011 or newer) find a friend who does, install it on on that computer, and transfer it over.

Blizzard should really provide a way for you to download the actual WC3 folder directly, rather than the PPC-only installer.

goMac
Dec 10, 2011, 03:22 AM
Not sure why you are going this route. Warcraft 3 runs on both Mac and PC. You don't really need Parallels. Like the above posts mention, if you have Snow Leopard, just install it on your Mac.

I played DOTA all the time in WC3 on my Mac.

Jethryn Freyman
Dec 10, 2011, 05:02 AM
What OS X do you have? Warcraft 3 runs perfect under OS X. Installer will work up to 10.6, but the updated game itself runs on 10.7 fine too.