PDA

View Full Version : How to setup




jasonmilford
Dec 7, 2011, 10:42 PM
I am looking at purchasing an Apple TV and I am wondering how I would set it up. I have my receiver, cable box and blu-ray player underneath my stairs in a closet. I have my TV mounted on my wall above the fireplace. My receiver has the capability of (4) HDMI inputs and (1) HDMI output. I have the cable box and blu-ray player in (2) of those HDMI inputs. Can I put the Apple TV in the closet and use one of the HDMI inputs? I want to do it this way so I still won't have any components by my TV and I can also use my receiver for audio instead of the TV. Will this work? Any other ideas?

Thanks



chenks
Dec 8, 2011, 06:20 AM
yes you can connect it via HDMI to the amp, however you need to consider how you would control the appletv.

you need either to be able to use the IR remote, or have an ipad/iphone/ipod touch to be able to control it.

Macman45
Dec 8, 2011, 06:38 AM
I am looking at purchasing an Apple TV and I am wondering how I would set it up. I have my receiver, cable box and blu-ray player underneath my stairs in a closet. I have my TV mounted on my wall above the fireplace. My receiver has the capability of (4) HDMI inputs and (1) HDMI output. I have the cable box and blu-ray player in (2) of those HDMI inputs. Can I put the Apple TV in the closet and use one of the HDMI inputs? I want to do it this way so I still won't have any components by my TV and I can also use my receiver for audio instead of the TV. Will this work? Any other ideas?

Thanks

On your sound receiver?

My setup works like this

ATV connected to router providing it with internet access

Optical cable from ATV to my DTS sound system

HDMI from ATV to HDMI on (Internet connected) Toshiba Regza 42" TV

Streaming is dealt with wirelessly from all devices Except my iMac which is also ethernet connected to the Draytek router.

Hope this helps you figure out what's best for you....Optical is not essential if you don't have a port for it on your sound system....You can use the HDMI cable as it carries both sound and Video.

jasonmilford
Dec 8, 2011, 09:08 AM
yes you can connect it via HDMI to the amp, however you need to consider how you would control the appletv.

you need either to be able to use the IR remote, or have an ipad/iphone/ipod touch to be able to control it.

Thanks for the help, I will control it with my Harmony remote.

chenks
Dec 8, 2011, 09:19 AM
Thanks for the help, I will control it with my Harmony remote.

so the appletv must still be in view then?
you said it would be in a closet under the stairs. how will your harmony remote send the IR signal to the appletv?

jasonmilford
Dec 8, 2011, 09:22 AM
It is in a closet. I have the Harmony remote with the IR Extender.

chenks
Dec 8, 2011, 09:30 AM
It is in a closet. I have the Harmony remote with the IR Extender.

unless you have an ethernet link into the closet, you might want to check the WIFI coverage in there.

jasonmilford
Dec 8, 2011, 09:31 AM
My blu-ray player will stream Netflix, YouTube etc. fine and its wireless.

rayward
Dec 9, 2011, 03:11 PM
It is in a closet. I have the Harmony remote with the IR Extender.

I have my ATV connected (via HDMI) to my receiver and all my components are in a cupboard out of sight. I control the whole thing with a Harmony remote and IR repeaters.

It's very slick - you'll love it!

jasonmilford
Dec 9, 2011, 03:14 PM
I have my ATV connected (via HDMI) to my receiver and all my components are in a cupboard out of sight. I control the whole thing with a Harmony remote and IR repeaters.

It's very slick - you'll love it!

Thanks for the response. I was beginning to wonder if nobody else had a similar setup.