Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Kendo

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Apr 4, 2011
I don't have any programming experience but have a few ideas for apps that I want to create for the iPhone. I already have a decent paying full time job so this would be more of a hobby than anything else (though I do have a dream of becoming a full time developer and quitting my day job).

Is it really a pipe dream to think that I could teach myself to create apps and games simply by reading on my own? I figured the only thing I would waste is my time. Any successful self taught programmers? I was looking toward the following book as a start.

http://www.amazon.com/Programming-O...=UTF8&qid=1323480780&sr=8-1#reader_0321711394

ArtOfWarfare

macrumors G3
Nov 26, 2007
Yes, you can learn programming, yes, you can make some iPhone apps, yes, you can make some money doing it, no, it probably won't be enough to quit your day job.

Not that I've stopped trying to make money on the app store.

Anyways, the route I always suggest for teaching oneself is starting with the book "The C Programming Language". White cover, big blue C.

Read the lessons and do the activities of the first 1/3 of the book or so to give yourself a bit of programming background before diving into Stanford's free online iOS programming lectures.

The book will take a few weeks to do, the lectures will take a few months to get through (assuming you spend an hour or so every other day,) and you could know enough to make some iPhone apps before 2012 is half over.

mamcx

macrumors regular
Mar 13, 2008
I don't have any programming experience but have a few ideas for apps that I want to create for the iPhone.

Programing by itself is very simple. In fact, almost all users that use a computer program on it. For example, if do a formula in excel.