PDA

View Full Version : Is there need to use any Sync software at all?




deepakvrao
Dec 13, 2011, 08:22 AM
With Windows have been using Syncback to sync data files with an external USB HDD, but now if I use Time Machine to back up on a USB drive, is there any need at all for data back up and sync seperately?

Have a 500b iMac, and a 2 TB HDD. Was planning to keep 1.5 TB for Time Machine and 500gb for data backup.

Should I buy some Sync software at all?



Bernard SG
Dec 13, 2011, 08:31 AM
Depends on your needs, I guess.
Time machine does not allow immediate access to the data, you need to restore, though you can do that file by file, obviously.
Not sure why you would need a Time Machine AND a "data backup" ?

Weaselboy
Dec 13, 2011, 08:33 AM
You don't really need to, but if you just want a second backup Carbon Copy Cloner (http://www.bombich.com/) is free and does a nice job of it.

deepakvrao
Dec 13, 2011, 08:42 AM
Thanks. Now I remember that CCC was one of the apps that I had downloaded when I got my Air [from one of the must have apps lists here of course]. So many new apps that I forget.