PDA

View Full Version : AppleScript and Xcode 4?

wrignj08
Dec 16, 2011, 09:26 AM
Hey all,

Im new to programming but I have played around with Xcode 3 before and found it ok. However in Xcode 4 I can't find a way to link my "push buttons" to an AppleScript. In Xcode 3 I would do this

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_i8fUdbAB7yM/S982_OJBN4I/AAAAAAAAAPQ/dOxiMrkrYUw/s1600/5.png

But I can't find the equivalent in Xcode 4.

Anyone know were it is?

Thanks

Partron22
Dec 16, 2011, 11:10 AM
Right click on your button in inteface builder, and drag a line from there to your App delegate in IB's 'Objects' list. That'll bring up a selectable list of your functions.
Apple's Xcode 4 transition guide is well worth a read.

Red Menace
Dec 16, 2011, 07:02 PM
AppleScript Studio (which looks like what you are talking about) was deprecated in Snow Leopard, and is gone completely in Lion - AppleScriptObjC is the framework used in Xcode 4.

wrignj08
Dec 16, 2011, 09:33 PM
Thanks for your replies,

So can i easily link an appleScript such as this

tell application "Google Earth"
activate
end tell

To a push button in Xcode 4 or not?

Partron22
Dec 16, 2011, 10:36 PM
It's very easy, just a little obscure if you've not seen it done or read about how to do it.

wrignj08
Dec 16, 2011, 10:46 PM
Im sorry guys I'm just not getting it. Any chance someone could take some screen shots of the process? It would be much appreciated :)

Red Menace
Dec 17, 2011, 02:21 PM