PDA

View Full Version : MB Air and Viruses

ET iPhone Home
Dec 17, 2011, 02:31 PM
Hey Guys,

New to the Mac World and I'm very glad I made the switch. Own both a MBA and 4S. I'm also new to this MR Forum and learning lots.

Anyway, over at the iPhone forum, there are these nightly threads, created by an Asian Website (spammer) which are flagged by members and are later deleted by moderators. Recently, people have posted, on these spam threads, not to click onto the link posted by the OP. It may contain a virus. Well, early on, when I first joined MR, I had no idea about these spammers, I have click to a few, without thinking that it could contain a virus. Once you link to it, the site sells fake iPhones, digital watches, and unknown name brand tablets. Below the products are testimonials, by customers, to how great their purchases were.

Do I have anything to worry about? Could I have compromised my MBA which may now have a virus? How would I know? Is there a Free Mac Anti-Virus program to do a quick diagnosis and screening of all files? I've been told that Macs are worry free, but I'm not too convince about that.

Thanks for your feedback. I just want to take care of this immediately if there's any cause for alarm. Also, was planning on doing a Restore from original factory settings if this would help rid of potential viruses - that's where you hold the COMMAND + R key on start-up, right?

GGJstudios
Dec 17, 2011, 02:35 PM