PDA

View Full Version : Information on how the MBA handles SWTOR?




henrikrox
Dec 18, 2011, 05:18 PM
Hi

So i just arrived at my parents home for christmas, and im debating, if i should play skyrim on my x360 or buy swtor now.

I can wait until i get home (1st of january), but im rather excited to play swtor.

So therefor, im wondering what kind of fps people are getting with there new mba.

I got the 13" standard model. i5 1.7 ghz, 4gb ram etc.

I dont mind playing with all low details, as long as the fps is fluid (30+)

Any feedback is appreciated



shelhed217
Dec 18, 2011, 06:05 PM
I'm also curious, i got my Christmas present early =D a new MBA and i plan on bootcamping SWTOR while i travel. Anyone tried it yet?

Sith Vol
Dec 18, 2011, 11:26 PM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

I'm thinking about boot camping W7 and then playing it via an external. I'll know on Christmas Eve if it's worth it.

henrikrox
Dec 19, 2011, 04:10 AM
please bump the thread when you know how it runs :)

henrikrox
Dec 19, 2011, 08:38 AM
just a quick update, i just bought swtor, i just finished installing w7.

and i have started to download the game, it takes a while, but in 24 hours, i will have some feedback on the fps, and performance

Kroner
Dec 19, 2011, 12:05 PM
Trying this as well, since I am gone from my desktop computer, because I am visiting my family. My old windows laptop seems to barely be able to handle anything at all, I am going to try on MBA, already tried it with Paralell, and not surprisingly it didnīt go so well.

Installing Windows 7 now with Bootcamp, and will transfer my SWTOR files from an external hd. I should be able to check how it works within 1 hour.

Sith Vol
Dec 19, 2011, 01:31 PM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

How is it?

And I only have the 128gb 13in model. Is that too low of space for the game? I was only planning to boot W7 to it and then play the game through an external. However, if I chose to install it to the MBA how much space would I need to partition?

Kroner
Dec 19, 2011, 02:46 PM
The game folder uses 19.6gb. I made a 50gb partion and installed Windows 7 Proffesional x64. I still got 11.8gb off 50gb.

Well it is playable, standard setting at low runs at 20fps, medium at 15fps and high at 12fps. While manually changing the settings gave me a fps between 23-30.
Although all of this was done rather quickly, and further testing needs to be done. Since I am still waiting to get inside my server, I only made a different character on an avaiable server to test a little bit how it would go.

I am using a ultimate 2011 MBA, and installed the game directly on the MBA if you want to know.

Sith Vol
Dec 19, 2011, 02:55 PM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

I don't really understand FPS. Does that mean on Low it's smooth? I don't care about the Low setting. On my Dell it's running on Low and it's fine, there's no lag or hiccups. I just don't know if I wanna put that much stress on my Air.

Kroner
Dec 19, 2011, 04:15 PM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

I don't really understand FPS. Does that mean on Low it's smooth? I don't care about the Low setting. On my Dell it's running on Low and it's fine, there's no lag or hiccups. I just don't know if I wanna put that much stress on my Air.

Movement are smooth on all settings, although it does lag on medium and high settings, as there is a lag when you press on a skill while in combat and till it activates. Although on low settings most of the time I do not experience any lag with skills. Also it seems that turning of shadow quality under settings helps quite abit.

So yeah, it seems that it is fine to play SWTOR with MBA on low settings :)
Although the fans are loud, seeing as it goes up to a max of 95 Celsius while playing SWTOR. Still it is not odd for the MBA to reach that temperature while playing games.
Performance wise it seems to do fine at low settings, and shadow quality off.

shelhed217
Dec 19, 2011, 06:07 PM
I was getting around 22-25 fps on all low settings, but only 8-10 when on my ship??? I did not notice any lag during combat. I would try out more (like the shadow settings thanks for the tip) but the servers are down, i guess to prepare for launch. Looks doable to me!
Edit: I have the stock 13 inch I5.

henrikrox
Dec 20, 2011, 10:53 AM
played swtor all day

settings on all low, and resolution 1280x768

and its very very fluid, very suprised

loving it!

Sith Vol
Dec 21, 2011, 06:03 PM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

How much of a partition should I make for W7 Home Prem? I'm just gonna play SWTOR through an external.

DustinT
Dec 22, 2011, 09:07 AM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

How much of a partition should I make for W7 Home Prem? I'm just gonna play SWTOR through an external.Apparently the game takes up to 20 gigs to install. You'll want a partition of at least 40+ for Windows and the game. I'd recommend no less than 50 gigs total for your Windows partition.

Sith Vol
Dec 23, 2011, 01:38 AM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

So even if I'm only installing W7 I need to make a 50gb partition? Could I get away with say...30gb? Only W7 I'm talking about here. SWTOR will be played through an external.