PDA

View Full Version : Handbrake and DVD ripping in general




underaothfan1:D
Dec 20, 2011, 08:33 PM
I recently got a MacBook Pro and have many DVDs, to put these on my itunes i download handbrake, i was told to download VLC media player, which I did but the video still came out with green marks all across the screen in random places as if handbrake cant read it correctly. The DVD has literally no scratches on it also. I think it has something to do with the VLC player. Any thoughts on whats wrong



DeeGee48
Dec 20, 2011, 08:42 PM
I recently got a MacBook Pro and have many DVDs, to put these on my itunes i download handbrake, i was told to download VLC media player, which I did but the video still came out with green marks all across the screen in random places as if handbrake cant read it correctly. The DVD has literally no scratches on it also. I think it has something to do with the VLC player. Any thoughts on whats wrong

I use Mac the Ripper or Ripit to put the complete DVD (menus and ALL) on the hard drive, then use Handbrake to transcode the items I want in iTunes. Never a problem. :)

McGiord
Dec 20, 2011, 08:43 PM
Update to the latest versions of both VLC and Handbrake.
The repeat the process from the DVD to generate the video file, be sure to use the right settings for what you want to accomplish.

underaothfan1:D
Dec 20, 2011, 09:11 PM
@DeeGee48
if I where using a TV show DVD after copying it with MacTheRipper, would I be able to cut them down to individual episodes in handbrake?

heimbachae
Dec 20, 2011, 09:34 PM
was this 1 DVD or several? make sure you open VLC and handbrake before inserting the disc possibly? doubt that would help, but you never know.

underaothfan1:D
Dec 20, 2011, 09:36 PM
it will be several, testing it out on a live concert but ive received all 7 seasons of "The Office" for Christmas:D

chiefpavvy
Dec 20, 2011, 09:58 PM
@DeeGee48
if I where using a TV show DVD after copying it with MacTheRipper, would I be able to cut them down to individual episodes in handbrake?

I don't recommend MTR as it has trouble with Lion. Overall it has been surpassed anyway.

My favorite is Mac DVDRipper Pro. Cost $10 or thereabouts, easily the best Mac DVD ripper out there. RipIt is popular but I never had good luck with it, lots of rips with issues - especially when using third-party software with the output, such as DVDRemaster Pro.

DVDFab has a Mac version as well now, no idea if it as good as the Windows client. I've used the Windows version for years, good stuff.

As for cutting episodes, yes, that is easy. Each episode will be a separate title and you can encode each one individually.

heimbachae
Dec 20, 2011, 10:27 PM
if you need the office come over to my house I have seasons 1-5. that'll knock out a lot of time for ya!

underaothfan1:D
Dec 22, 2011, 09:02 PM
I found the 0.9.4 (i think) of handbrake and vlc worked just fine with it, everything seems to be going smooth so far. Can anyone tell me if there is any difference between 0.9.4 and the lastest version of handbrake's ipad setting?

underaothfan1:D
Dec 23, 2011, 10:28 AM
also does anyone know a width & height combination for handbrake for a 13" mac book is i guess standard definition

I don't want it to look grainy or pixely, but I don't want a hour long movie taking up 1.5 GBs on my harddrive, when I can download it off iTunes and it's only 1.23 GBs

Thanks

blueroom
Dec 23, 2011, 10:31 AM
also does anyone know a width & height combination for handbrake for a 13" mac book is i guess standard definition

I don't want it to look grainy or pixely, but I don't want a hour long movie taking up 1.5 GBs on my harddrive, when I can download it off iTunes and it's only 1.23 GBs

Thanks

Don't try to resize the movie, black bars are normal.

Apple does't use Handbrake, but I wouldn't gripe about a 250MB difference in file size. Get an external drive or better yet a NAS and you can store all sorts of videos.

dynaflash
Dec 23, 2011, 10:33 AM
I found the 0.9.4 (i think) of handbrake and vlc worked just fine with it, everything seems to be going smooth so far. Can anyone tell me if there is any difference between 0.9.4 and the lastest version of handbrake's ipad setting?

latest of hb is 0.9.5 official. you can also get a nightly as hb is in a hard freeze for an impening 0.9.6. release.

https://forum.handbrake.fr/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=15901

Current nightly is stable on os x lion.

underaothfan1:D
Dec 23, 2011, 12:07 PM
@ blueroom

It wasn't the black bars that were bothering me, actually there weren't any bars. I just want it to be the best looking it can be i guess... I'm not sure if that made sense

Also file size isn't that big of a deal, i just don't want to use up more space than I have to. And I just re-ripped and put it through the newest version of handbrake with the dimensions being 640x368 and an average bit rate of 1800 kbps, and it came out to a nice 987 MB, with barely, if any, change in quality

underaothfan1:D
Dec 25, 2011, 09:48 AM
Nevermind, I'm just not gonna mess with any of this stuff anymore, its not that important to me anyway