Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

D.C. Kikuyama H

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 31, 2005
Pearl City, Hawaii
Aloha,

Im new to the Mac World and Ive found that this board seems to have some pretty good info on the Mac. Recently, I purchased a g5 dual 2.0, the older version with the pci-x slots and upgradeable 8gb of RAM.

I believe that I did fairly well with the purchase price: 1799.88 out the door. Purchased the Tiger upgrade and the Apple Care plan for the g5 and a 23" CD (1499.00).

My question is, what should I invest my savings in? More RAM, a higher end video card, other suggestions?

Money isnt really an issue, but after comparing the different models, the dual 2.0 g5 seemed like the most cost effective for what my present needs are. This workstation will mainly be used for music production and eventually DVD video creation. I dont really need a DL DVD burner or other storage as most projects will be backed up to an external drive.

Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Dale

Edit: its the base configuration with 512mb RAM, 160GB HD, NVIDIA GeForceFX 5200 Ultra 64mb... sorry for the omission.

mad jew

Moderator emeritus
Apr 3, 2004
Adelaide, Australia
First step is probably RAM but we need to know how much you have and what you want to use the G5 for. Next, I'd upgrade the GPU, but only after spending some serious dosh on the RAM.

Xtremehkr

macrumors 68000
Jul 4, 2004
Depends on what you are going to be using it for. RAM is probably the only upgrade that needs to be made, if at all. Unless you are a gamer or running programs that require a stronger GPU.

Nice buy though, that's quite a setup.

spinne1

macrumors 6502a