PDA

View Full Version : noise while working in DVD Studio Pro???




neildmitchell
Jun 1, 2005, 07:03 PM
Does anyone else hear a high pitched noise but not loud noise coming from their G5 as they edit text in menus while working in DVD Studio Pro?

The noise is in sync with type being input?
Also linkng items assets to buttons by dragging causes the noise too?

Dont think its a big problem, just a curiosity?



Rod Rod
Jun 14, 2005, 02:36 PM
Does anyone else hear a high pitched noise but not loud noise coming from their G5 as they edit text in menus while working in DVD Studio Pro?

The noise is in sync with type being input?
Also linkng items assets to buttons by dragging causes the noise too?

Dont think its a big problem, just a curiosity?
The noise is coming from your processor(s) and it's related to a faulty power supply unit. Your PSU should be replaced under warranty.

Apple's "fix" is to turn off "nap" mode using CHUD tools. While (according to what I've read) that works to resolve the problem, turning off nap is supposed to be one of those things that Apple doesn't want (non-developer) users to do. It's sort of paradoxical (Apple suggesting something they don't recommend) but you should get a new PSU.

Rod Rod
Jun 14, 2005, 02:37 PM
Does anyone else hear a high pitched noise but not loud noise coming from their G5 as they edit text in menus while working in DVD Studio Pro?

The noise is in sync with type being input?
Also linkng items assets to buttons by dragging causes the noise too?

Dont think its a big problem, just a curiosity?
The noise is coming from your processor(s) and it's related to a faulty power supply unit. Your PSU should be replaced under warranty.

Apple's first suggested "fix" is to turn off "nap" mode using CHUD tools. While (according to what I've read) that works to resolve the problem, turning off nap is supposed to be one of those things that Apple doesn't want (non-developer) users to do. It's sort of paradoxical (Apple suggesting something they don't recommend) but you should get a new PSU.